menu

Blizard Institute

Research menu

Centre for Immunobiology

The Centre for Immunobiology consists of twenty research-active groups with around eighty scientists dedicated to top-quality research and education in immunology, with particular focus on acute and chronic inflammatory disease, lymphocyte development, and the mucosal immune system.

Our research teams are dedicated to both investigating the major mechanisms by which the immune system functions, and ultimately in easing the burden of major immune-related public health issues, including:

  • The ever-increasing burden of inflammatory illnesses, in which the immune system often becomes the cause of disease
  • Inflammatory bowel disease
  • Liver diseases such as hepatitis C, hepatitis B and non-viral liver illnesses 
  • Exploring treatments for haemophilia
  • Antimicrobial resistance to antibiotics 
  • Type I diabetes

 

Centre Lead:

Professor Daniel J. Pennington, Professor of Molecular Immunology

Email: d.pennington@qmul.ac.uk

 

Centre Manager:

Mrs Nici Kingston

Tel: 020 7882 7191

Email: n.j.kingston@qmul.ac.uk 

 

Centre Administrator:

Mr Abdul Monaf

Tel: 020 7882 7278

Email: a.monaf@qmul.ac.uk

 

Centre for Immunobiology
Blizard Institute
Barts and The London School of Medicine and Dentistry
4 Newark Street
London E1 2AT

 

Daniel J. Pennington, Professor of Molecular Immunobiology; d.pennington@qmul.ac.uk

Tim Warner, Professor of Vasular Inflammation; t.d.warner@qmul.ac.uk

Tom MacDonald, Professor of Immunology; t.t.macdonald@qmul.ac.uk 

Ian Sanderson,  Professor of Paediatric Gastroenterology; i.r.sanderson@qmul.ac.uk

Graham Foster, Professor of Hepatology (Clinical Research Lead, Centre for Immunobiology); g.r.foster@qmul.ac.uk

Ping Wang, Professor of Mucosal Immunobiology; p.wang@qmul.ac.uk

John Pasi, Professor of Haemostasis and Thrombosis, k.j.pasi@qmul.ac.uk

David Leslie; Professor Diabetes and Autoimmunity; r.d.g.leslie@qmul.ac.uk

James Lindsay, Professor of Inflammatory Bowel Disease; james.lindsay@bartshealth.nhs.uk 

Aine McKnight, Professor of Viral Pathology (Gender and Ethnic Lead); a.mcknight@qmul.ac.uk

Paolo Pozzilli, Professor of Diabetes and Clinical Research; P.Pozzilli@unicampus.it 

Paul Kelly,  Professor of Tropical Gastroenterology; m.p.kelly@qmul.ac.uk 

Andy Stagg,  Reader in Immunology; a.stagg@qmul.ac.uk

Patrick Kennedy, Reader in Hepatology; p.kennedy@qmul.ac.uk

Dr Will Alazawi, Reader in Hepatology; w.alazawi@qmul.ac.uk

Heinke Kunst, Senior Lecturer in Respiratory Medicine; h.kunst@qmul.ac.uk

Dan Hart, Senior Clinical Lecturer in Haematology; d.hart@qmul.ac.uk 

Louisa James, Lecturer in Immunobiology; louisa.james@qmul.ac.uk

David Wareham  Clinical Senior Lecturer;  d.d.wareham@qmul.ac.uk

Dr Jane Deayton Clinical Senior Lecturer in HIV; j.deayton@qmul.ac.uk

Samir Agawal, Senior Lecturer in Haemotology; s.g.agrawal@qmul.ac.uk

 

 

 

Lucinda Hall, Deputy Director for Education and Undergraduate Science Academic Lead; lucinda.hall@qmul.ac.uk

Dame Parveen Kumar, Professor of Medicine & Education; p.j.kumar@qmul.ac.uk 

Nick Croft, Reader in Clinical Paediatric Gastroenterology; n.m.croft@qmul.ac.uk

Jean Marie Delalande, Non-Clinical Senior Lecturer and Undergraduate Clinical Education Lead; j.m.delalande@qmul.ac.uk

Michele Branscombe, Lecturer in Infectious Science and Postgraduate Taught Education Lead; m.branscombe@qmul.ac.uk

Olivier Marches, Lecturer, Undergraduate Education Lead, o.marches@qmul.ac.uk

Alicia Green, Postgraduate Teaching Fellow; a.e.green@qmul.ac.uk

Debra Marcos, Postgraduate Clinical Teaching Fellow; d.marcos@qmul.ac.uk

Matthias Dittmar, Senior Lecturer in Infection; m.t.dittmar@qmul.ac.uk

Postgraduate taught programmes

Our has contributed to the training of specialist registrars, clinical scientists and biomedical scientists over many years. In 2011 we were one of only two Universities in England to be accredited to run an MSc in Clinical Science (Infection Sciences) developed in conjunction with NHS Modernising Scientific Careers as part of the new Scientist Training Programme.

The PGDip Distance Learning/MSc in Gastroenterology is designed as a curriculum in gastroenterology, hepatology and nutrition for new entrants into these fields, and as an update and extension for doctors already in the field.

It is aimed at clinicians wishing to gain strong knowledge of the sciences underpinning the clinical diseases and their management.

The programme includes the ‘taught programme’ from October until April and research projects from April until submission in August. Those undertaking the PG Diploma Distance Learning will complete only the taught programme.

Postgraduate research

Our research students undertake exciting projects in diverse areas and also benefit from excellent training and support programmes within the Blizard Institute and more widely in the College. Funded studentships are awarded competitively and are always advertised on the and at findaphd.com.

High calibre students with independent funding who wish to undertake research in one of our major research areas may contact potential supervisors direct (please note that we receive many requests for placements and it may not always be possible to respond individually).

Return to top