Skip to main content
The William Harvey Research Institute - Faculty of Medicine and Dentistry

Professor Mauro Perretti


Professor of Immunopharmacology

Centre: Biochemical Pharmacology

Telephone: +44(0) 20 7882 8782


ORCID iD: 0000-0003-2068-3331

Google Scholar

Degree in Medicinal Chemistry (1985) followed by a Master in Pharmacology and Toxicology (1988), both from the University of Florence, Italy. Doctorate from the University of London in 1996.

Academic path built on two fellowships from Arthritis Research Campaign (career development fellowship and senior fellowship): 1997-2007.

Senior roles: Deputy Director of William Harvey Research Institute (2006-2013); Co-Director of William Harvey Research Institute (2013-2016); Dean for Research and Research Impact of the Faculty of Medicine and Dentistry (2015-2022).



Group members

Dr Magdalena KANEVA (senior post-doctoral fellow), Dr Chiara CECCONELLO (post-doctoral fellow), Dr Michele SUGIMOTO (post-doctoral fellow), Miss Marilena CHRISTOFOROU (PhD student), Mr Weifeng BU (PhD Student), Dr Hedayatullah HAYAT (QMUL/CARA Fellow), Miss Ayda Henriques SCHNEIDER (FAPESP Fellow).


Prof Perretti expertise are in the area of pathophysiology of inflammation with a strong attention to therapeutic opportunities. He has pioneered the studies on the biology of the Resolution of Inflammation, its mechanisms and mediators. Currently, Mauro and his team collaborate with commercial partners to establish resolution pharmacology, as a new branch where novel therapies could be developed on the science of resolution.

Key Publications

For a full list of publications click here

  1. Chen J, Austin-Williams S, O'Riordan CE, Claria-Ribas P, Sugimoto MA, Norling LV, Thiemermann C, Perretti M. Formyl peptide receptor type 2 (FPR2) deficiency in myeloid cells amplifies sepsis-induced cardiac dysfunction. J INNATE IMMUN. 2023 Apr 17. doi: 10.1159/000530284.
  2. Qin CX, Norling LV, Vecchio EA, Brennan EP, May LT, Wootten D, Godson C, Perretti M*, Ritchie RH*. Formylpeptide receptor 2: Nomenclature, structure, signalling and translational perspectives: IUPHAR review 35. BR J PHARMACOL. 179(19):4617-4639, 2022.
  3. Oggero S, Godec T, van Gorp R, Pinto AL, Schurgers LJ, Reutelingsperger C, Sever P, Norling LV, Perretti M*, Gupta A*.  Role of plasma extracellular vesicles in prediction of cardiovascular risk and alterations in response to statin therapy in hypertensive patients. J HYPERTENS. 40(8):1522-1529, 2022.
  4. Oggero S, de Gaetano M, Marcone S, Fitzsimons S, Pinto AL, Ikramova D, Barry M, Burke D, Montero-Melendez T, Cooper D, Burgoyne T, Belton O, Norling LV, Brennan EP, Godson C, Perretti M. Extracellular vesicles from monocyte/platelet aggregates modulate human atherosclerotic plaque reactivity. J EXT VESICLES 10:12084, 2021.
  5. Chen J, Norling LV, Mesa JG, Silva MP, Burton SE, Reutelingsperger C, Perretti M*, Cooper D*. Annexin A1 attenuates cardiac diastolic dysfunction in mice with inflammatory arthritis. PROC NATL ACAD SCI USA. 118(38):e2020385118, 2021.
  6. Gadipudi LL, Ramavath NN, Provera A, Reutelingsperger C, Albano E, Perretti M*, Sutti S*. Annexin A1 treatment prevents the evolution to fibrosis of experimental nonalcoholic steatohepatitis. CLIN SCI (LOND). 136(9):643-656, 2022.



Dr Jianmin Chen; Dr Dianne Cooper; Dr Ajay GuptaDr Trini Montero-Melendez; Dr Suchita Nadkarni;Dr Lucy Norling; Dr Manikandan Subramanian; Prof Jesmond Dalli; Prof Magdi Yaqoob


Dr Stanly Fan (Barts Health NHS Trust); Prof Sandra Farsky (University of Sao Paulo, Brazil); Prof Catherine Godson (University College Dublin, Ireland); Dr Andreas Margraf (University of Münster, Germany); Dr Patricia Martins Silva (FioCruz, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil); Prof Chris Reutelingsperger (University of Maastricht, Netherlands); Prof Mauro M Teixeira (Federal University of Minas Gerais, Brazil).


  • Lectures on receptor theory, inflammatory models and resolution of inflammation to undergraduate students (P&IT) and post-graduate students (BHF DTP).
  • Assessor for student selected component years 2 and 4.


  • Shareholder (ResoTher Pharma AS; Antibe Therapeutics)
  • Scientific Advisory Board Member (SynAct Pharma, ResoTher Pharma)
  • Director (William Harvey Research Limited)
  • Consultancies (SynAct Pharma, BMS, Palatin Technologies)
  • Collaborative Projects (TXP Pharma, BMS, BioAegis)

Back to top