Skip to main content
School of Law

Sustainable Development, Investment Law and the European Union

When: Friday, December 10, 2021, 9:00 AM - 11:45 AM
Where: Online,

Book now

Centre for International Law, NUS and Queen Mary School of Law logos

Joint Conference hosted by National University of Singapore, Centre for International Law (CIL) and Queen Mary University London, School of Law (QMUL).

Changing Paradigms in International Investment Law and Sustainable Development: The Contribution of the EU

Panel 1 | 5pm-6:15pm SGT/ 9am-10:15am GMT / 10am-11:15am CET

The panel discusses the legal effects of sustainable development in international investment law, and comments on the specific contribution the EU has made to integrate sustainable development in international investment agreements. The starting point for the discussion is the recently published book Sustainable Development in EU Foreign Investment Law (Brill 2021) written by Stefanie Schacherer.

Moderator

Introductory Remarks

  • August Reinisch, Professor of International and European Law, University of Vienna

Book Presentation

Discussant

Trade and Sustainable Development Chapters of EU Investment Agreements

Panel 2 | 6:30pm-7:45pm SGT / 10:30am-11:45am GMT / 11:30am-12:45pm CET

This panel takes a closer look at the Trade and Sustainable Development (TSD) Chapters of EU International Investment Agreements. These chapters have been praised for creating a distinct promotional model for regulating the linkage between investment/trade and sustainable development. Yet, the implementation and enforcement of TSD provisions remain subject to debate. Are consultation and experts’ recommendation enough? Or should TSD provisions be enforceable through a sanction-based mechanism? Against this background, the second panel critically assesses the effectiveness of the current institutional framework and enforcement mechanism of TSD chapters.

Moderator

Panelists

Closing Remarks/Way Forward