Skip to main content
Institute of Dentistry - Barts and The London

Structure

COCR team

 

Director:  Professor Nikolaos Donos;DDS, MS, FHEA, FDSRCSEngl., PhD

Head Centre for Oral Clinical Research, Professor & Chair Periodontology & Implant Dentistry,(Hr) Consultant Honorary Professor, UCL-Eastman Dental Institute, London, U.K. Honorary Professor, Griffith University, Australia.

Email: n.donos@qmul.ac.uk

 

Deputy: Dr Nikolaos Gkranias;DDS, MClinDent, Perio.Cert(EFP), FHEA, PhD

Senior Clinical Lecturer/ Honorary Consultant

Investigator: Dr Nikos Mardas;Dipl.D.S, MS, PhD,

Specialist in Periodontics.Clinical ReaderSenior Clinical lecturer and Honorary Consultant in Periodontology.

Email: n.mardas@qmul.ac.uk 

 

Investigator: Dr Elena Calciolari;DDS, MS, PhD

Senior Clinical Lecturer in Translational Medicine

Email: e.calciolari@qmul.ac.uk

 

Investigator: Dr Vanessa Sousa Moreno;DDS, MSc, Cert Perio, AFHEA, PhD

Academic Clinical Lecturer/Specialty Registrar in Periodontology

Email: v.sousa@qmul.ac.uk

 

Investigator: Dr Lifong Zou;BSc, MSc, PhD

Clinical Scientist

Email: l.zou@qmul.ac.uk

 

Investigator: Dr. Isabel Lopez-Oliva;BDS PhD

Academic Clinical Lecturer and specialist registrar in Periodontics

Email: i.lopez-oliva@qmul.ac.uk

 

Investigator:  Dr Alessia D'Onofrio;

NIHR Academic Clinical Fellow in Periodontology

Email: alessia.donofrio@qmul.ac.uk

 

Investigator/Therapist/Examiner: Dr Nikolaos Tatarakis;DipDS, Cert (Perio), MS (USA),

Diplomate, American Board of PeriodontologyContributes in the design, recruitment and completion of study visits of clinical trials in the fields of periodontology and Implantology

Email: n.tatarakis@qmul.ac.uk

  

Therapist/Examiner:  Iro Palaska; DDS, MSc (Periodontics)

Currently, Dr Palaska works as part of a multidisciplinary team and is involved in the clinical management and treatment of patients in the fields of Periodontology, Tissue Regeneration and Implant Dentistry

Email: i.palaska@qmul.ac.uk 

 

Therapist/Examiner: Panayiotis (Pano) Kaimakamis;

Having recently joined the Centre of Clinical and Oral Research, Pano is keen to get involved in the research studies currently being undertaken by this multidisciplinary team

Email: p.kaimakamis@qmul.ac.uk 

  

Clinical Research Facility (CRF) Manager: Dr Rinat Ezra; PhD

In charge of the clinical trials’ operational and governance management and co-operation with research collaborators (commercial or non -commercials) and sponsors’ representatives.

Email: r.ezra@qmul.ac.uk

 

Clinical Trials Co-ordinator: 

Dr Simona Salomone - PhD - currently on Maternity leave

For my PhD, I conducted a randomized controlled trial to test the effects of a new computerised, partially home-based attention-training programme for adults with ADHD. I also studied neurophysiological markers of sustained attention deficits in adults with ADHD using electrophysiology (EEG).

Email: s.salomone@qmul.ac.uk

 

Clinical Trials Co-ordinator:  Mrs Archana Jayanthi;

Mrs Archana Jayanthi is the clinical trials co-ordinator at the Centre for Oral Clinical Research, Barts and The Royal London School of Medicine and Dentistry.

Mrs Jayanthi has a masters in industrial biotechnology and have worked in various molecular biology academic labs. My previous job roles included, Cardiff University (Wales Heart Research Institute & complement)

Email: a.jayanthi@qmul.ac.uk

 

Osteology Scholar:  Jeniffer Perussolo;DDS, M.Sc

Therapist, Examiner,  Clinical Research Fellow

Dr Perussolo won a 1-year Scholarship by the Osteology Foundation and currently she holds the position of Clinical Research Fellow in the Centre for Oral Clinical Research & Centre for Oral Immunobiology and Regenerative Medicine.

Email: j.perussolo@qmul.ac.uk

 

ITI Scholar: Dr Nicolo Cavalli;DDS, PhD

Therapist, Examiner,  Clinical Research Fellow

In 2019 he won the prestigious scholarship from the International Team for Implantology that is sponsoring one year at QMUL, Barts and The London School of Medicine and Dentistry, The Royal London Dental Hospital, under the supervision of Professor Nikolaos Donos.

Email: n.cavalli@qmul.ac.uk 

 

Centre Administrator: Mrs Shirley Goodey;

First person of contact for COCR. Ms Goodey will guide you through the organisational setup, provide you with the required training and budget set up. Furthermore, Mrs Goodey is the local HR responsible person.

Email: s.a.goodey@qmul.ac.uk

 

Senior Research Nurse:  Mrs Lisa Groarke;

Facilitate in research study to our research clinic and ensure compliance with the local and national hospital Standard Operative Procedures (SOPs) and Trust clinical governance.

Email: l.groarke@qmul.ac.uk

 

Research Nurse: Miss Katie Cullen;

Katie has extensive knowledge and experience in surgical procedures including Prosthodontics, Implant Dentistry, Periodontology and bone grafting techniques as well as training in research SOPs and clinical research procedures

Email: k.cullen@qmul.ac.uk

Research Nurse: Ms Ilona Wojcik;

Joined the Centre for Oral Clinical Research as a Research Dental Nurse in May 2018 bringing with her a dental nursing experience from the NHS and private dental practices.

Email i.wojick@qmul.ac.uk

 

Image Analyst: Mrs Maria Huang-Wong

Email: m.huang-wong@qmul.ac.uk 

 

PhD Students 

Neil MacBeth;  

Michail Vavalekas;

Asmaa El-Kaddar;

Ahmed Naji;

Vasiliki Koidou;

  

Honorary Staff members

Professor Tomaso Vercellotti

Profesessor Klaus Lang

Dr Antonio Linares

Dr Steve Barter

Dr Maria Retzepi

Dr Xanthippi Dereka

Dr Anna Eriksson

Dr Aliye Akcalı

Dr Inma Tomas