Skip to main content
School of Law

Law Summer Graduation 2014

Law students from Queen Mary University of London were awarded their degrees at the graduation ceremony on 14 July 2014. The 2014 results for law were excellent, with 82 per cent of students graduating with a 2:1 or above.

Law Summer Graduation

View photos from Law Summer Graduation 2014 on Flickr.

The School of Law celebrates its 50th anniversary next year and is ranked 3rd in the UK and 1st in London in the Guardian University Guide 2015.

Head of the Department of Law, Professor Valsamis Mitsilegas said: "Congratulations to all our graduating students and thank you all for your valuable contribution to Queen Mary. We hope that you will stay in touch with the School of Law and continue to be an active part of our community."

Prizes are awarded to first, second and final year undergraduate students in recognition of academic performance, with final year students receiving their prizes at the graduation ceremony. 20 prizes were awarded this year, with sponsored prizes from law firms Dechert, Old Square Chambers and Herbert Smith Freehills.

Shannon Diggory was awarded three prizes, including the Roger Crane prize for academic performance and contribution to the life of the School. Shannon was active in Queen Mary's Legal Advice Centre, where she supervised advice sessions and contributed to a commercial awareness bulletin.

Shannon said: "I'm incredibly proud to be graduating from Queen Mary, particularly with first class honours and I'm looking forward to coming back as an alumni, both for the Legal Advice Centre and hopefully to participate in some careers events."

Queen Mary College prizes

  • Jeremy Baily (final year)
  • Shannon Diggory (final year)
  • Nikola Georgiou (final year)
  • Yoana Georgieva (final year)
  • Megan Jones (final year)
  • Michael Rhimes (final year)
  • Alexander Witt (final year)
  • Aram Zahedi (final year)

Department of Law prizes

  • Roger Crane Medal (finalist: academic performance and contribution to the life of the School of Law) - Shannon Diggory
  • Routledge Prize (best first year) - Ju Lee Ng
  • Roy Goode Prize (best finalist) - Shannon Diggory
  • Sweet & Maxwell Prize (best second year) - Alisdair Copland
  • Criminal Law Prize - Ju Lee Ng (first year)
  • Cambridge University Press Prize Competition Law - Yoana Georgieva (final year)
  • Dechert Prize for Contract Law - Michaella Georgiou, Johanna Kases, Stacey De Souza (first year)
  • John Yelland Commercial Law Prize - Alexander Witt (final year)
  • Old Square Chambers prize for Labour Law - Darren Jun Jie Low (second year)
  • Oxford University Press Equity and Trusts Law Prize - Oliver Foy (second year)
  • Pearl Prize for Family Law - Kirsty Day (second year)
  • Public Law Prize - Nicholas Shore, Jeanelle Pran
  • Herbert Smith Freehills Tort Law Prize - Devon Wright (final year)
  • Department Land Law Prize - Ju Lee Ng, Jack O'Hara



Back to top