Skip to main content
Queen Mary Academy

Teaching Recognition

The Teaching Recognition Programme aims to recognise and promote excellence in teaching and learning.

We aim to engage all educators in the process of seeking Associate Fellowship, Fellowship, Senior Fellowship or Principal Fellowship of the HEA. We also support staff to apply for national recognition through National Teaching Fellowship (NTF), the Collaborative Award for Teaching Excellence (CATE) and the SEED Award.

Three people talking inside a modern building

Associate Fellowship Accelerator for Doctoral / Postgraduate Research students

The Accelerator Day is an opportunity for all graduate teaching assistants, teaching associates, demonstrators and postgraduate research students who teach in a variety of roles to achieve Associate Fellowship of the Advance HE (AFHEA). By achieving Associate Fellowship, the awardees will gain formal recognition for their teaching, supporting their career development.

Which category of Fellowship should you apply for?

Fellowship category Suitable for
Associate Fellow (D1) Early career individuals with some teaching and learning responsibilities
Fellow (D2) Staff holding substantive teaching and learning responsibilities
Senior Fellow (D3) Staff with responsibility for leading, managing or organising programmes, subjects and/or disciplinary areas
Principal Fellow (D4) Staff responsible for strategic leadership and policy-making in the area of teaching and learning


If you need help to decide which category of fellowship is right for you, you can use the AdvanceHE Category Tool

Guide to the process

Once you have decided which category of Fellowship is right for you, you should book onto a workshop and review the guidance documents. This will help you decide whether you prefer to submit a written or dialogic (verbal) application.

Dialogic process

If you would like to apply using the dialogic route, please email

For further information on the Dialogic process, please see:


Written process

When you have completed the first draft, please email it to in order to be assigned a mentor. Your mentor will help you with the drafting process until you are ready to submit your application to a panel. Please send your finished application and reference letters, together with your completed cover sheet, to

For more information on the Written process, please review the guidance documents.

Panel meetings and submission deadlines for 2022/23

Submission deadline Meeting date
6 January 2023 15 February 2023
24 March 2023 3 May 2023
2 June 2023 19 July 2023








Awards are usually communicated two weeks after the panel meeting.

Back to top