Skip to main content
About us


Image of the Queens' Building at Queen Mary University of London


Council is the governing body of Queen Mary University of London, responsible for overseeing our strategic mission, direction and affairs. Made up of 21 members (12 of whom are external), Council meets six times per year and sits at the pinnacle of Queen Mary's corporate governance framework. In order to undertake its duties effectively, Council delegates decision-making in designated areas of Queen Mary activities to a suite of sub-Committees, including Finance and Investment Committee, Audit and Risk Committee, Governance Committee and Remuneration Committee. More information can be found on the Academic Registry and Council Secretariat website.


Senate has main responsibility for overseeing the University's academic activity, including academic standards, freedom and research, and comprises the Principal, Vice Principals, representatives from the Students’ Union, Heads of Schools, Deans of Research, and elected students and academic staff. It meets six times per year.

Senior Executive Team (SET)

SET is our academic senior management team and comprises the Principal, Senior Vice-Principal and Vice-Principals. SET advises the Principal on the management of day-to-day university business as well as its long-term future, and is responsible for the development and implementation of the Strategic Plan. It meets once a week.

Back to top