Skip to main content

Digital Lives (Humanising the Digital)

This research programme brings together inter/multi/transdisciplinary researchers and practitioners animated by the relationships between people, data and digital technologies. Recognising that the digital is produced through the social, potential themes include digital bodies, digital aesthetics, digital finance, data lives and digital afterlives.

This research programme is headed by Professor Philippa Williams, Dr Cristina Morena Almeida and Dr Delfi Nieto-Isabel.

Reading Collective

For those interested in Digital Lives, please see the google document, and propose a session. Please also share comments/edits around defining the focus and format for the collective.

Call for Members

42 members have joined the programme. If your research interests correspond with the aims of the programme, please get in touch with its co-directors or email

Past Events

The programme was launched with a one-day Symposium on Friday, 20 January 2023. It was an opportunity to meet colleagues from across Queen Mary, share your research on ‘Digital Lives’ through short presentations and establish some common objectives/dreams for the Digital Lives programme. Professor David Leslie, Dr Panos Panagiotopoulos, Professor Martin Welton, Dr Josie Hamper, Dr Agnieszka Lyons, Professor Nelya Koteyko, Anna Rousková, Dr Michaela Macdonald, Dr Gaetano Dimita, Dr Kerry Holden, Professor Matt Harsh (California Polytechnic State University and Visiting Fellow at Queen Mary University of London), Professor Yasmin Ibrahim, Professor Philippa Williams, IHSS Fellows Dr Daragh Murray and Dr Cristina Moreno Almeida presented at the symposium.

Professor Greg Slaubaugh and Director of the Digital Environment Research Institute (DERI) chaired the session "AI, Ethics and Law".

Digital Lives Catch-up meeting with Lunch on 3 July 2023.  

Digital Lives monthly seminars lead by:

Friday, 20 October 2023, Professor Yasmin Ibrahim (School of Business and Management);

Thursday, 16 November 2023, Dr Delfi Nieto-Isabel (School of History & IHSS Fellow); 

Thursday, 14 December 2023, Dr Keren Weitzberg (School of Politics and International Relations & IHSS Fellow);

Thursday, 1 February 2024, Dr Kerry Holden (School of Geography);

Thursday, 29 February 2024, Dr Darragh Murray (School of Law & IHSS Fellows);

Thursday, 28 March 2024, Dr Hannah Silva (School of English and Drama);

Thursday, 9 May 2024, Dr Xumeng Xie (School of Languages, Linguistics and Film).

Back to top