Skip to main content
The William Harvey Research Institute - Faculty of Medicine and Dentistry

Professor Morris Brown honoured with 2024 Laureate Award from Endocrine Society

Morris Brown, Professor of Endocrine Hypertension at Queen Mary University of London, has been named one of 14 leading endocrinologists to receive the prestigious 2024 Laureate Awards, the top honours in the field.

Morris Brown with the Gerald D Aurbach Award 2024

Professor Morris Brown (2nd right).

The Endocrine Society's annual Laureate Awards recognise the highest achievements in endocrinology, including research and innovations in clinical care. This year, Professor Brown was presented with the Gerald D. Aurbach Award for Outstanding Translational Research. This award highlights exceptional contributions to research that accelerate the transition of scientific discoveries into clinical applications.

Professor Morris Brown received the award in Boston, Massachusetts, USA, on June 2 at ENDO 2024, the Society’s annual meeting. His research focuses on identifying adrenal causes of hypertension and tailoring treatments to individual patients. In 1999, he proposed the AB/CD rule, which underpins many current hypertension guidelines. As President of the British Hypertension Society, he led the 'PATHWAY' clinical trials, which established optimal treatments for various categories of hypertension.

Currently, Professor Brown’s research focuses on the adrenal gland, particularly small aldosterone-producing adenomas, a common and often unrecognized cause of hypertension in 99% of cases. His translational work aims to identify and appropriately treat all patients with aldosterone-related hypertension, revolutionizing patient care and improving long-term health outcomes.

On receiving his award Professor Brown said: “I am thrilled and honoured to receive this award, and grateful to Professor Marta Korbonits for nominating me. In Primary Aldosteronism we are fortunate that we can cure many people of their hypertension (high blood pressure) by removal of adrenal tissue; this lends itself to research that starts with molecular discovery and translates into patient benefits. The award is a tribute to a very special bond with my colleague Professor Will Drake, to a wonderful young team of talented PhD students taking time out of clinical training, to Elena Azizan my former student and collaborator of 15 years, and to Xilin Wu and Emily Goodchild who have returned as clinical lecturers.”



Back to top