Skip to main content
School of Law

CCLS Paris Opening Lecture and award ceremony with Jeantet

On 24 January, the Centre for Commercial Law Studies (CCLS) at Queen Mary University of London (Paris) and the Sorbonne Law School invited senior in-house lawyers from three major Paris-based international companies to speak to our Paris LLM students.

William Hodder and Clémentine Van Lede accepting their Jeantet Student Excellence prizes

The panellists discussed their roles and that of their teams within their respective organisations, the challenges they face and their expectations for the future, followed by a Q&A. The event was hosted by Parisian legal firm Jeantet. 

After the Q&A we awarded the Jeantet Student Excellence prize. The prize is kindly sponsored by Jeantet and awarded to the highest-achieving student for each of the Paris LLM and the Sorbonne - Queen Mary Double LLM programmes. 

Clémentine Van Lede, who studied International Business Law, won the award for the Paris LLM programme and has been working at EY Société d'avocats as a tax lawyer since July 2022. She said: 

“I am really honoured for winning the Jeantet Award for Student Achievement as it comes to award my LLM in Business Law at Queen Mary and testifies of what I learned there. I would like to thank Jeantet again for sponsoring the award, and the teaching and administrative staff of Queen Mary for their help and their kindness.” 

William Hodder won the award for the Double LLM programme. As of September 2022, he is employed as Legal Counsel at BNP Paribas Personal Finance (the consumer credit subsidiary of the BNP Paribas Group) on IT, Intellectual Property, and Contract Law issues. He said: 

“Winning the Jeantet Award for Student Achievement is the perfect end to my academic journey as a student of the prestigious QMUL-Sorbonne Double LLM program. The honor that is bestowed upon me also reinforces the confidence I have in my legal knowledge, which is crucial on the job-market as a recent graduate. As such, I’d like to thank Jeantet for sponsoring the award, and the teaching & administrative staff of the program for making all of this possible.”

More information: 



Back to top