Skip to main content
School of Law

Law Summer Graduation and Prize Winners 2012


Students from the School of Law were awarded their degrees on 13 July 2012. More than 200 law students graduated at the ceremony held in the newly-refurbished Great Hall in the People’s Palace at Queen Mary, University of London.

Professor Peter Alldridge, Head of the Department of Law, said:

“We would like to thank all our graduating students for their contribution to the School of Law and to Queen Mary. Every student plays a part in the continuing success of the School and we wish them all the best for the future.”

Each year the School of Law and Queen Mary award prizes to first, second and final year undergraduate students in recognition of academic performance. The final year students receive their prizes at the graduation ceremony.

Professor Peter Alldridge commented on the prize winners:

“We’re all exceptionally pleased that the 2012 results are so good. Once again the standard was very high and I congratulate all the students who have done so well, against tough competition, to secure these prizes.”

Law Prize Winners photo gallery

Click on the image to view photos of some of the final year prize winners.

Law Graduation 2012          

Queen Mary College prizes:

  • Draper's Company Prize - Nayrin Noori (final year)
  • Draper's Company Prize - Katelynn Schoop (final year)
  • Draper's Company Prize - Melanie Shone (final year)
  • Draper's Company Prize - Gianni Sonvico (final year)
  • Leverhulme Prize - Terese Saplys (final year)
  • Principal's Prize - Abby Crawford (final year)
  • Principal's Prize - Benjamin May (final year)

Law Department prizes:

General prizes

  • Roger Crane Medal (finalist: academic performance and contribution to the life of the School of Law) - Hannah Hollman
  • Roy Goode Prize (best finalist) - Abby Crawford
  • Routledge Prize (best first year) - Alyssa Soomphong
  • Sweet & Maxwell Prize (best second year) - Terese Saplys

Subject-specific prizes

  • Dechert Prize for Contract Law - Alyssa Soomphong (first year)
  • Criminal Law Prize - Jocelyne Smelt (first year)
  • Longman’s Property 1 Prize - Michael Rhimes (first year)
  • Public Law Prize - shared between: Julia Bihary (first year) and Christos Malikkidis (first year) 
  • John Yelland Commercial Law Prize - Phillipa Carr (final year)
  • Cambridge University Prize for Competition Law - Johanna Hedlof (second year)
  • Pearl Prize for Family Law - shared between: Robyn O'Connor (second year) and Katelynn Schoop (final year)
  • Old Square Chambers Prize for Labour Law - Wun-Ting (Jessica) Kam (final year)



Back to top