Skip to main content
School of Law

Law graduation day 2009


Congratulations to the Class of 2009 who graduated from the School of Law at Queen Mary, University of London.

Law undergraduates were awarded their degrees at the graduation ceremony held on 15 July 2009 in the Queens Building.

Professor Peter Alldridge, Head of the Department of Law, said, “We are delighted by the very high standards that have been reached by this year’s graduates. Their achievements are testimony both to their own efforts and the quality of the teaching at Queen Mary. We wish every member of the graduating class much success in their future careers, and hope that they will look back at their time here with both pride and affection.”

The School of Law is very proud of the students who won final-year prizes. The prizes are awarded annually in recognition of academic performance.

This is the first year that we have awarded the ‘John Yelland Prize for Commercial Law’.  This new prize was awarded to Constantina Spanou. The £1000 was donated by a former student and the prize commemorates John Yelland, a former Head of Department who taught Commercial Law.

We would also like to congratulate first and second year undergraduate prize-winners and wish them every success during the rest of their time in the School of Law at Queen Mary, University of London.

Pictured in the photo are law prize winners, clockwise from top left: Miryam Boston, Georgina Colegate-Stone, Yousafa Hazara, Alon Blitz and Patrick Abraham.

Law Prize Winners 2009

Final year prize winners:

Prize Prize Winner
Roy Goode Prize
for best final year student
Patrick Abraham
Roger Crane Medal
for best final year student and contribution to the Department
Georgina Colegate-Stone
Head of Department Prize
for academic achievement and contribution to the Department
Miryam Boston
Cambridge University Press Prize for Competition Law Yousafa Hazara
John Yelland Prize for Commercial Law
Constantina Spanou
Sweet & Maxwell Prize
for best overall mark in all subjects
Yousafa Hazara
Pearl Prize for Family Law
Salma Begum
Queen Mary College Prize Patrick Abraham
Queen Mary College Prize Joanna Creed
Queen Mary College Prize Hetal Ganatra
Queen Mary College Prize Yousafa Hazara

First and second year prize winners:

Prize Prize Winner
Dechert Prize for Contract Law
Tessa Jones
Criminal Law Prize Alon (Richard) Blitz
Longman's Property I Prize Irina Roelcke
Public Law Prize Benjamin Von Maur
Queen Mary college prize Tessa Jones
Queen Mary college prize Anna Nelson
Queen Mary college prize Pavlos Kaimakliotis



Back to top