Skip to main content
School of Law

EU-China Comprehensive Agreement on Investment in Context Series (Part II)

When: Monday, March 29, 2021, 9:00 AM - 12:40 PM
Where: Online,

Book now

EUPLANT logo sat above the Erasmus+ logo which states 'with the generous support of the Erasmus+ programme of the European UnionThe conclusion ‘in principle’ of the EU-China Comprehensive Agreement on Investment between China and the EU (CAI) is a watershed event in global investment treaty practice. Because of the size and importance of the PRC-EU bilateral investment relationship, and because of the leading role both parties have played in the global spread of investment treaties, the issues raised and lessons drawn from the PRC-EU case will have ramifications well beyond China and Europe. The School of Law at Queen Mary University of London and City University of Hong Kong, the Jean Monnet Network on EU-China Legal and Judicial Cooperation, and the Asia-Pacific FDI Network are proud to announce this series of two events on the CAI. The first webinar to be held on 8 March will focus on the areas of convergence and divergence as well as the dispute resolution aspects of the CAI. The second webinar will be structured around two sessions focusing on the right of states to regulate as well as the ratification process.

9am-12:40pm London Time // 4-7:40pm Beijing time.

Programme

Opening remarks

9am London time // 4pm Beijing time

by Dr Matthieu Burnay (Queen Mary) and Professor Julien Chaisse (City University of Hong Kong)

Introductory remarks

9:10am London time // 4:10 Beijing time

Ms Marie-Pierre Vedrenne (Vice-Chair, Committee on International Trade) 

Session 1: EU and China Investments: Right of States to Regulate

9:30am London time // 4:30pm Beijing time

Chair: Professor Julien Chaisse

  • Labour rights, by Dr. Axel Marx (Leuven Centre for Global Governance Studies)
  • The “Korea labour commitments” Case-- Lessons and Prospects for CAI, by Dr Sungjing Kang (Kim and Chang)
  • Environmental rights, by Dr Dominic Dagbanja (University of West Australia)

Discussants: Professor Markus Krajewski, Erlangen (University of Erlangen Nuremberg) and Dr Angelos Dimopoulos (Queen Mary)

Session 2: Towards Ratification by EU and China

11:00am London time // 6:00pm Beijing time

Chair: Dr Matthieu Burnay

  • The EU-Vietnam FTA experience, by Professor Claudio Dordi (Bocconi University)
  • The EU Ratification Process by Dr Kolja Raube (University of Leuven)
  • The China Ratification Process, by Professor Li Bin (Beijing Normal University)

Discussants: Dr Shaohua Yan (Fudan University) and Professor Men Jing (Dalian University of Technology)

Concluding remarks

12:30pm London time // 7:30pm Beijing time

Dr Matthieu Burnay (Queen Mary) and Professor Julien Chaisse (City University of Hong Kong)

**Please note this will be an online event and all registrants will be sent joining instructions on Friday 26 March.