Skip to main content
Wolfson Institute of Population Health

Clinical Effectiveness Group

  

Two people talking in front of a desktop computer

UNIT LEAD John Robson

The Clinical Effectiveness Group (CEG) uses primary care health data for research, with a focus on reducing health inequalities and improving population health. Our academics, primary care clinicians, health data scientists, analysts and primary care facilitators turn knowledge into action which improves clinical care. Our work involves interdisciplinary teams, and includes the perspectives of patients, and health care professionals, and values team science. We are founding partners of the Discovery Data Service, which integrates data from GPs, hospitals, and community settings in near real-time.

Our research is supported by major funders, including Barts Charity programme grants: ‘REAL Health - Research Enabled Learning Health Systems’ and ‘Precision Medicine’. These use health data for research to improve equitable disease prevention and treatment.  We lead the Wellcome Trust PhD in science programme ‘Health Data in Practice’ and are members of the NIHR School of Primary Care Research. We lead the Wolfson Institute Digital and Health Data Science theme. More information about our work is available here

  • CEG brings research and NHS partners together, builds capacity in health data science through national and local collaborations, and develops future leaders through doctoral and other postgraduate training.

  • Wellcome Trust Health Data in Practice Our doctoral training programme applies human-centred data research to health and care data, drawing on concepts, disciplines and methods underpinning qualitative and quantitative evaluation and decision-making in real-world settings.

  • Health data informatics and tools Our dashboards visualise health data from across the North East London Integrated Care System – covering 2.2 million patients - informing our research and providing valuable insight for NHS primary care commissioners and the region’s eight local authorities. Our data-driven searches, smart templates and pop-up alerts are used by 272 GP practices to improve direct patient care and make it easier to implement new programmes and meet targets.

  • Innovative data linkage We develop algorithms and innovative methods to link primary care data to other sources – including genetic research, the national cancer registries, geospatial information and school records on height and weight – to build a deeper understanding of population health.

  • Precision Medicine A major new research programme in collaboration with Barts Cancer Institute to use electronic patient records and linked information, derived from disease registers, tissue samples and imaging, to improve the prevention, diagnosis and treatment of long-term conditions including cancers.

  • Reducing delay and inequalities in childhood immunisations We are researching inequalities in immunisation uptake, using geospatial data to map hotspots of infection susceptibility, and developing in-practice software that uses electronic health records to identify children, efficiently and equitably, for routine vaccinations.

  • Improving cardiovascular, respiratory and child health through research analyses of linked electronic health records and innovative decision support tools for GP practices across North East London.

OUR TEAM

Zaheer Ahmed
Informatics Lead
zaheer.ahmed@qmul.ac.uk

Fahmida Akthar
Communications and Administration Assistant
fahmida.akthar@qmul.ac.uk

Karishma Bhuruth
Clinical Facilitator
k.d.bhuruth@qmul.ac.uk

Anna Billington
Science and Impact Communications Manager
a.billington@qmul.ac.uk

Dr Kambiz Boomla
Honorary Clinical Senior Lecturer
k.boomla@qmul.ac.uk

Thomas Bradshaw
Data Analysis Assistant
t.bradshaw@qmul.ac.uk

Jayne Callaghan
Senior Primary Care Facilitator
j.callaghan@qmul.ac.uk

Dr Chris Carvalho
GP, NIHR Fellow, CEG Clinical Lead
chris.carvalho@qmul.ac.uk 

Dr Jim Cole
GP, Honorary Clinical Research Associate, CEG Clinical Lead
j.cole@qmul.ac.uk

Billie-Jo Corfield
Primary Care Support Officer
b.corfield@qmul.ac.uk 

Dr Anna De Simoni
GP, Clinical Lecturer in Primary Care
a.desimoni@qmul.ac.uk

Professor Carol Dezateux
Professor of Clinical Epidemiology and Health Data Science, CEG Clinical Lead
c.dezateux@qmul.ac.uk

Isabel Dostal
Research Assistant
i.dostal@qmul.ac.uk

Shirley Dryden 
Administrator
s.a.dryden@qmul.ac.uk

Nicola Firman
Health Data Scientist, REAL Child Health
nicola.firman@qmul.ac.uk

Lacey Fitzgerald
Primary Care Support Officer
l.fitzgerald@qmul.ac.uk

Tracey Gibbons
Primary Care Support Officer
t.gibbons@qmul.ac.uk

Dr Mina Goyal
GP, CEG Clinical Lead
m.goyal@qmul.ac.uk

Dr Eleanor Groves
Research Developer and PhD Programme Manager
e.groves@qmul.ac.uk

Ana Gutierrez
Senior Primary Care Facilitator - Childhood Immunisation Lead
a.gutierrez@qmul.ac.uk

Dr Gill Harper
UKRI Rutherford Postdoctoral Research Fellow, REAL Child Health
g.harper@qmul.ac.uk

Meredith Hawking
ESRC LISS Postdoctoral Research Fellow, REAL Child Health
m.k.d.hawking@qmul.ac.uk

Kate Homer
Senior Health Data Scientist
k.homer@qmul.ac.uk

Dr Sally Hull
Honorary Clinical Reader in Primary Care Development
s.a.hull@qmul.ac.uk

Pritt Kallah
Primary Care Facilitator
p.kallah@qmul.ac.uk

Josephine Law
Primary Care Facilitator
josephine.law@qmul.ac.uk

Rumana Malik 
Data Analysis Assistant 
r.malik@qmul.ac.uk

Dr Milena Marszalek
GP, NIHR Academic Clinical Fellow, REAL Child Health
m.marszalek@qmul.ac.uk

Rohini Mathur
Honorary Research Fellow
r.mathur@qmul.ac.uk

Ranjan Patel
Primary Care Facilitator
ranjan.patel@qmul.ac.uk

Keith Prescott
Manager
k.a.prescott@qmul.ac.uk 

Dr Stuart Rison
GP, Clinical Research Fellow, REAL Health CVD
s.rison@qmul.ac.uk

Luis Rivas
Primary Care Facilitator
l.o.rivastaquias@qmul.ac.uk

Dr John Robson
Clinical Reader in Primary Care Research and Development, CEG Clinical Lead
robson@qmul.ac.uk

Martin Sharp 
Data Analyst
m.a.sharp@qmul.ac.uk 

Kelvin Smith 
Senior Data Analyst
kelvin.smith@qmul.ac.uk

Jo Tissier
Senior Primary Care Facilitator
j.r.tissier@qmul.ac.uk

Kalpona Uddin
Data Analysis Assistant
kalpona.uddin@qmul.ac.uk

Marta Wilk
PhD student, REAL Child Health
marta.wilk@qmul.ac.uk

Fae Wilkins
Primary Care Facilitator
f.wilkins@qmul.ac.uk 

Crystal Williams
Senior Data Analyst
crystal.williams@qmul.ac.uk

Charlotte Yeo
Primary Care Support Administrator
c.yeo@qmul.ac.uk

 

CONTACT

CEG administration: Shirley Dryden s.a.dryden@qmul.ac.uk

Primary care support enquiries: Charlotte Yeo c.yeo@qmul.ac.uk

Primary care web resources and dashboards: Fahmida Akthar fahmida.akthar@qmul.ac.uk

Health Data in Practice PhD: Eleanor Groves e.groves@qmul.ac.uk

We are based in in the Abernethy Building, Whitechapel Campus. Our postal address is Yvonne Carter Building, 58 Turner Street, London E1 2AB

 

Back to top