Skip to main content
Queen Mary Alumni

Queen Mary alumni recognised in the New Year Honours List 2021

We are delighted to announce that nine Queen Mary alumni have been recognised in the 2021 New Year’s Honours list. The honours mark the outstanding achievements and service of extraordinary people across the UK and we are proud that members of our alumni community have been acknowledged once again for their significant contributions to their respective fields.

Front of Buckingham Palace


  • Vivienne Artz (Computer Law Dip, 1998), Chief Privacy Officer at Refinitiv and President of Women in Banking and Finance, was awarded an OBE for services to financial services and gender diversity
  • Professor James Calder TD (Medicine MBBS, 1991), Consultant Orthopaedic Foot and Ankle Surgeon and a Professor in the Department of Bioengineering at Imperial College London, was awarded an OBE for services to sport and exercise
  • Professor Barbara Chadwick (Dentistry BDS, 1963), Professor of Paediatric Dentistry and Director of Education and Students at the School of Dentistry, Cardiff University, was awarded an MBE for services to paediatric dental health
  • Anita Goyal (Biomedical Materials Science and Engineering BSc (Eng), 1994), CEO of the Hemraj Goyal Foundation and a Trustee of Hallmark Care Homes Foundation, was awarded an MBE for services to diversity and female empowerment
  • Dr Elaine Cloutman-Green (Clinical Microbiology MSc, 2006), Principal Clinical Scientist, Infection Prevention and Control and Joint Trust Lead Healthcare Scientist at Great Ormond Street Hospital for Children NHS Foundation Trust, was awarded a BEM for services to healthcare
  • Sir Stephen Deuchar CBE (History PhD, 1986), former Director of the Art Fund (2010-20), received a knighthood for services to art
  • Dr Paul Grant (Clinical Microbiology MSc, 2010), Molecular Virology Scientific and Research and Development Lead at the Health Services Laboratories, was awarded an MBE for services to healthcare science during the COVID-19 response
  • Dr Linda Harris (Medicine MBBS, 1989), Chair of the Health and Justice Clinical Reference Group at NHS England, was awarded an OBE for services to the NHS
  • Asiyah Ravat (Chemistry BSc, 1992), Executive Principal of Star Academies, was awarded an OBE for services to education in Birmingham

See the full New Year Honours List.




Back to top