About us menu

Humanities and Social Sciences

Matthew Hilton, Vice-Principal (Humanities and Social Sciences)

Matthew Hilton, Vice-Principal (Humanities and Social Sciences)

The Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences (HSS) has played a key role in the success of Queen Mary University of London over the past ten years.  HSS has combined research excellence with a strong commitment to growth, innovation and diversity in its educational activities.  Public engagement, partnerships, cross-disciplinary collaboration, and the generation of research with broad and compelling public benefits have all been central to the Faculty’s work.

Our academic schools work together effectively, generating excellent research, teaching and learning opportunities across the humanities and social sciences.  Altogether there are over 7,300 students and 660 staff across the Faculty, with many inter-departmental links.

The Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences is marked by some outstanding successes – independently confirmed by impressive rankings.  In the Guardian University Guide 2015, five disciplines in the Faculty were judged to be in the UK top ten.  We offer degrees in a wide range of disciplines – from commercial law and politics, to film studies and literature.

Teaching and Learning

In the 2014 National Student Survey, more than 75 percent of schools had ratings over 90 percent for overall student satisfaction. These impressive results confirm the high quality of our teaching. We have invested a great deal in teaching and learning facilities over the last five years – from improving the functionality and content of the Virtual Learning Environment (VLE)  to responding to the changing needs of students by creating dedicated areas ideal for group study. These initiatives are designed with one aim in mind: to support students in achieving their potential.

For more information, see our Teaching Page. 


In the United Kingdom's last Research Excellence Framework (REF) assessment of the quality of research (2014) the Faculty did exceptionally well, and contributed strongly to Queen Mary University of London's overall achievement, placing it in the top ten for research quality amongst multi-submission and multi-faculty universities in the UK. In the Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences, Drama and Linguistics are each ranked first in the UK, while English is ranked fifth. A number of other research areas also were assessed as having very high-quality research publications and impact. More information about the Faculty performance in REF2014 can be found below:

HSS REF Strategy 2015 [PDF 1,896KB]

We also have an impressive track record of attracting funding. Our research grant funding is around £7 million annually, and more than £1million is invested in scholarships for research students. Together with Kings College London and Imperial College, we are an accredited ESRC Doctoral Training Partnership (DTP). The DTC will be able to fund over 50 students per year from 2017-18. We are also an associate member of the AHRC-funded London Arts and Humanities Partnership.

We are expanding inter-disciplinary research activity through a Queen Mary Institute for the Humanities and Social Sciences (IHSS) which aspires to be an ideas generating hub for research across the Faculty.  

For more information, see our Postgraduate and Research sections.

Humanities and Social Sciences Strategic Plan 

HSS Strategy 2015-19 [PDF 697KB]

Faculty structure

Our schools and departments:

Faculty staff

Vice-Principal and Executive Dean:
Professor Matthew Hilton
(PA to the Vice-Principal Dawn Cosford) vp-hss@qmul.ac.uk

Faculty Deans for Taught Programmes
Dr Colleen Cotter, Dean for Taught Programmes c.m.cotter@qmul.ac.uk

Christina Perry, Deputy Dean for Taught Programmes (Learning Resources and Engagement & Retention) c.perry@qmul.ac.uk

Dr Roberto Veneziani, Deputy Dean for Taught Programmes (International and Student Recruitment) r.veneziani@qmul.ac.uk


Faculty Deans for Research

Professor Adrian Smith, Dean for Research a.m.smith@qmul.ac.uk

Dr David Williams, Deputy Dean for Research (PGR) david.williams@qmul.ac.uk

Dr Tessa Wright, Deputy Dean for Research (Impact) t.wright@qmul.ac.uk


Faculty Professional Services Team

Dr Marta Timoncini, Faculty Operating Officer m.timoncini@qmul.ac.uk

Aurelija Povilaike, Faculty Research Manager a.povilaike@qmul.ac.uk


Lucie Langley, Faculty Education Manager l.langley@qmul.ac.uk 

Sofia Cusano, Faculty Administrative Manager s.cusano@qmul.ac.uk

Will McAdam, Faculty Student Recruitment and Widening Participation Officer w.mcadam@qmul.ac.uk 

June Ryde, Faculty Administrative Officer j.ryde@qmul.ac.uk                

Dr Lizzy Allman, Equality, Diversity and Inclusion Officer l.allman@qmul.ac.uk                                                                                                                                                 

Return to top