Skip to main content
School of Politics and International Relations

Professor Tim Bale, Think you know who will be the next PM? Think again . . . and again


Professor Tim Bale writes for The Times about the changing nature of Tory leadership contests: “Tory leadership contests often throw up some surprises. A glance through the history books shows us Harold Macmillan robbing Rab Butler, Butler losing out again to Alec Douglas-Home, Margaret Thatcher beating Edward Heath and Willie Whitelaw, and John Major snatching it from Michael Heseltine. This is the party, too, remember, that gave the crown to William Hague and to Iain Duncan Smith rather than to Ken Clarke or Michael Portillo, and to David Cameron rather than David Davis.”
More »
Also featured in Bloomberg