Skip to main content
School of Politics and International Relations

Ceasefire, Reflections on community, politics and social change in the Kachin region of Burma (Myanmar), 1994 to the present

12 October 2013

Time: 6:30 - 8:00pm
Venue: SOAS, Room G3, Russell Square, London WC1H 0XG

Convenor - Dr Mandy Sadan, with the support of SOAS History Department and the Centre for South East Asian Studies

About the event

In recent years, there has been a marked increase in interest in the Kachin region of Burma (Myanmar). This has been sparked partly by the return to armed hostilities between the Kachin Independence Army (KIA) and the Burma Army in June 2011, which ended a 17 year long ceasefire agreement. This seemed out of step with more positive political developments elsewhere in the country. The apparent resilience of local people and Kachin political-military elites to comply smoothly with pressure to bring a speedy resumption of ceasefire seems to be considered a problem, even somewhat irrational by many who want to see greater progress in the development of national peace. Surprisingly little attention has been paid to the experience of the previous 17 years in explaining this reluctance to sign a ceasefire once more. The purpose of this seminar is to bring together a wide range of people with experience of working in this region over an extended period to reflect on how the previous experience of ceasefire from 1994-2011 has resulted in social, political and economic change within Kachin society. In this way, it is hoped that deeper understanding of local responses to renewed conflict and attempts to bring peace in the region can be gained.

Confirmed participants

Speakers and other participants at the event include: Martin Smith, Dr Lee Jones, Dr Ho Ts’ui P’ing, Prof Robert Anderson, Dr Enze Han, Dr Joy Pachuau, Nhkum Bu Lu, Kai Htang Lashi, Hkun Sa Mahkaw, Hkanhpa Tu Sadan, Hkun Nawng, Gumring Hkangda, Dr Gustaaf Houtman, Kevin Woods, Laur Kiik, Nbyen Dan Hkung Awng, Dr Reshmi Banerji, Dr Matthew Walton, Patrick Meehan, Helen Mears, Janet Zuo, Dr Bianca Son Suantak.


Click here for registration details.

Back to top