Skip to main content
School of Mathematical Sciences



The School of Mathematical Sciences enjoyed success at the Annual Teaching Awards held as part of the Education Awards Ceremony at Drapers Hall on 23rd March. The Awards are completely student led with students submitting written nominations with nominees then shortlisted by a panel including Student Union sabbatical officers. More information can be found at is external)

The School had 3 members of staff shortlisted for awards; Norman McBreen (Education Manager) for the Employability and Enhancement Award, Dr Juan Valiente-Kroon (Reader in Applied Mathematics) for the Innovative Teaching Award and Zak Liddell (Student Support Officer) for the Academic Support Award.

Zak went on to win the Academic Support Award. The citation for Zak stated “The academic support award celebrates members of staff who go out of their way to provide support for students. The nominees for this award are: Matt Jacobsen (Student Experience Manager) from the School of History, Zak Liddell from the School of Mathematical Sciences, John Viles (Reader in Biochemistry) from the School of Biological and Chemical Sciences. Zak was nominated for a variety of things, from helping the Maths Society to his work with i-squared support and as one student said always seeking to improve the student experience, everything he does is for the benefit of the student.”

We congratulate all our nominees and thank them for their dedication and commitment in supporting our students.



Back to top