Skip to main content
School of History

The 8th London Summer School on Intellectual History

3 September 2019 - 6 September 2019

Time: 10:30am - 7:30pm

The 8th London Summer School in Intellectual History

The Annual London Summer School in Intellectual History is a rare opportunity for graduate students to acquire further training in the discipline and its different methodologies, as well as to meet a great number of academics and graduate students working in many different fields in intellectual history and related sub-disciplines. Running from (Tuesday) 3 to (Friday) 6 September 2019, the 8th Annual Summer School will include:

  • Special workshops on methodological approaches to intellectual history
  • Masterclasses discussing texts distributed and read in advance
  • Feedback on current research (following brief student presentations)
  • Advice on writing and publishing
  • A colloquium on ‘The Global South in Intellectual History’

Applications are welcome from doctoral students in intellectual history and related disciplines (the history of philosophy, literature, politics, law, political science, Classics) as well as MA/MSc students intending to conduct future research in this area. London is now one of the leading international centres of research and teaching in the history of political thought and intellectual history with a dedicated graduate programme and year-round research seminars, conferences, and workshops. The Summer School, now in its eighth year, is run jointly by University College London (UCL) and Queen Mary University of London (QMUL).

This year Keynote Lectures will be delivered by:

Professor Quentin Skinner (QMUL): 

‘Thomas Hobbes: Picturing the State’

Professor Anthony LaVopa (North Carolina State University):

‘Character and Reputation: A Woman among Men of Letters’

The discussions will be led by academics from the different branches of the University of London, other UK universities and from overseas. In past years these have included Caroline Ashcroft, Richard Bourke, Katrina Forrester, Maurizio Isabella, Aline-Florence Manent, Mira Siegelberg, Quentin Skinner, Gareth Stedman Jones, Barbara Taylor,  Georgios Varouxakis (QMUL); Hannah Dawson, Humeira Iqtidar, Jeremy JenningsNiall O'Flaherty, Paul Sagar (KCL); Michael Lobban, Lea Ypi (LSE); Julia Ng (Goldsmiths); Valentina ArenaAngus Gowland, Julian Hoppit, Axel Körner, Miriam Leonard, Avi Lifschitz, Nicola Miller (UCL). From outside the University of London, they have also included David Armitage (Harvard), Silvia Sebastiani (EHESS Paris), Arnault Skornicki (Université Paris Nanterre), Jérémie Barthas (CNRS, Lille), Anthony La Vopa (North Carolina), Ritchie Robertson (Oxford), Iain McDaniel and the late Donald Winch (Sussex), Richard Whatmore (St Andrews), Duncan Kelly (Cambridge), Felicity Green (Edinburgh), Mónica Brito Vieira (York), Liisi Keedus (York/Tallinn), Iain Hampsher-Monk (Exeter), Martin van Gelderen (Göttingen), Knud Haakonssen (Erfurt), Or Rosenboim (City University), and others.

Dates and fees: The event starts on Tuesday 3 September 2019 in the evening (5.00pm) and ends in the early afternoon (4.00pm) on Friday 6 September 2019. It will take place at University College London [UCL], in the historic Bloomsbury area of central London. Participants are required to contribute £185, which covers tuition, lunches, and a reception on the first evening. In addition, those who need accommodation in central London can book a reserved room in one of the UCL Halls of Residence from £64.30 (£53.84 plus VAT) per night. The recommended Hall of Residence is John Dodgson House on Bidborough Street.

How to apply: Please send a brief CV (up to two pages) and a brief abstract of current or future research (up to 200 words) to Aleksandra Kaye – email:

The deadline for applications is Monday 17 June 2019.

Back to top