Skip to main content

Winners announced at the Engagement and Enterprise Awards

Staff and students of Queen Mary University of London were recognised for their outstanding achievement in public engagement, academic enterprise, student enterprise and public relations at the 2019 Engagement and Enterprise Awards.

Published on:

The 15 awards were announced at an awards ceremony, held at the Ecology Pavilion in London’s east end, and showcased the outstanding and varied work taking place across the University.

Professor Colin Bailey, Principal and President Queen Mary opened the award ceremony. He said: “Our founders would look on with pride; we are opening the doors of opportunity for everyone.” Matt Parker, Maths Comedian and Queen Mary Public Engagement Fellow presented the event.

Public Engagement at Queen Mary

The Centre for Public Engagement (CPE) was set up in 2012, with the aim of embedding and sustaining public engagement within Queen Mary.  CPE builds on Queen Mary’s strong history of public engagement and helps support all staff in developing new activity and sustaining and strengthening existing projects.

The winners are as follows:

Public Engagement category

Influence Award winner:

#ThinkHand. Gavin Giovannoni, Klaus Schmierer and Alison Thomson, Blizard Institute

Inspire Award winner:

Crafting interactive audio systems with e-textiles. Becky Stewart, School of Electronic Engineering and Computer Science

Interact Award winner:

SAROBMED, Violeta Moreno-Lax, School of Law

Involve Award winner:

MUSICS (Magnetospheric Undulations Sonified Incorporating Citizen Scientists). Martin Archer, School of Physics and Astronomy

The Hawking Award for Developed Understanding of Public Engagement winner:

Lois Weaver

The Garriott Award for Leadership in Public Engagement winner:

The Legal Advice Centre

Media and Public Relations category

Best Opinion/Comment Piece winner:

Jonathan Kennedy, Blizard Institute

Best Published Research Campaign winner:

Magda Osman, School of Biological and Chemical Sciences

Queen Mary Rising Star winner:

Hannah Mawdsley, School of History

Academic Innovation category

Academic Commercial Enterprise winner:

LANDR, Josh Reiss, School of Electronic Engineering and Computer Science

Innovation of the Year winner:

Early detection of pancreatic cancer in urine specimens. Tatjana Crnogorac-Jurcevic and Silvana Debernardi, Barts Cancer Institute

Bruce Dickinson Entrepreneur of the Year winner:

Sean Gong, School of Electronic Engineering and Computer Science

Student Enterprise category

Entrepreneurial Student of the Year winner:

Yash Morar

Most Promising Student Business of the Year winner:

Mandarin Spark, Jay Harvey

The Fareena Baig Student Social Enterprise Award winner:

Musemio, Olga Kravchenko and Kaitlin Fritz

Back to top