Skip to main content

Winners announced at QMUL’s Engagement and Enterprise Awards 2017

After all their inspiring work the winners of QMUL’s Engagement and Enterprise Awards 2017 were announced at a ceremony held in The Octagon last night.

Published on:
QMUL alumnus Bruce Dickinson presenting the The Bruce Dickinson Award for Academic Entrepreneur of the Year
QMUL alumnus Bruce Dickinson presenting the The Bruce Dickinson Award for Academic Entrepreneur of the Year

The event recognised outstanding achievement in public engagement, academic enterprise, student enterprise and public relations within the university.

Forty-two projects were showcased across fifteen awards demonstrating the exceptional work taking place at QMUL.

Opened by Professor Simon Gaskell, QMUL President and Principal, the prizes were presented by members of the QMUL senior executive, Lucy Hawking and Bruce Dickinson, under the stewardship of Matt Parker, Maths Comedian and QMUL Public Engagement Fellow.

Finalists included co-produced film projects, museum exhibitions, performance-led social action and innovative media campaigns, academic innovation and student enterprise.

The winners are as follows (for full details head here):

Public Engagement Category

Inspire Award winners:

Digesting Science - Alison Thomson, Harriet Smith, Blizard Institute of Cell and Molecular Science

Involve Award joint-winners:

PILI - Sophie Harman, School of Politics and International Relations

Steve Reich’s Clapping Music - Marcus Pearce, Samantha Duffy, School of Electronic Engineering and Computer Science

Interact Award winners:

Child Migrant Stories - Ethnie Nightingale, School of Geography ; Teresa Hare-Duke, V&A Museum of Childhood ; Mitch Harris, Mitch Harris Films ; Linh Vu

Influence Award winners:

The Verbatim Formula - Maggie Inchley, Sylvan Baker, School of English and Drama; Sadhvi Dar, School of Business and Management

The Hawking Award for Developed Understanding of Public Engagement:

Awarded to People's Palace Projects

The Garriott Award for Leadership in Public Engagement:

Awarded to Paul Edlin, Director of Music

Media and Public Relations Category

Best Opinion/ Comment Piece winner:

Will McMorran

Best Published Research Campaign winner:

Guillem Anglada-Escudé

QMUL Media star joint-winners:

Lars Chittka and Carla Valentine

Academic Innovation Category

Academic Commercial Enterprise winner:

Vision Semantics Limited

Academic Non-Commercial Enterprise winner:

Creativeworks London

Proof of Concept Project winner:

Locomotion System for a Robotic Active Capsule Endoscope

The Bruce Dickinson Award for Academic Entrepreneur of the Year winner:

Dr Hamit Soyel

Student Enterprise Category

Entrepreneurial Student of the Year winner:

Obehi Orukpe

Most Promising Student Business of the Year winner:

Motus Innovations

For media information, contact:

Rupert Marquand
Media Relations Manager
Back to top