Skip to main content

Dr James Busfield awarded the Colwyn Medal

Dr James Busfield from the School of Engineering and Materials Science has been awarded the Colwyn medal by the Institute of Materials, Mining and Minerals.

Published on:
Dr James Busfield
Dr James Busfield

The Colwyn Medal is awarded to an individual for outstanding services to the rubber industry of a scientific, technical or engineering character. Dr Busfield is the fourth person associated with Queen Mary to receive the prize, as former recipients include former Principal Sir Harry Melville FRS; Honorary Fellow, Alan Thomas; and alumnus, Alan Gent.

Dr Busfield commented: “It is a tremendous honour to be the recipient of prize that has in the past been awarded to the most famous names in rubber research including JD Ferry, L Mullins, AR Payne, CL Bateman, LRG Treloar, PJ Flory and G Gee.”

Back to top