Skip to main content

Success for Queen Mary academics in New Year’s Honours List

Three academics from Queen Mary have been honoured in the 2009 New Year’s Honours List.

Published on:

Professor Kate Costeloe, Professor of Paediatrics in the School of Medicine and Dentistry received a CBE for Services to Medicine in London.  A senior lecturer and honorary consultant paediatrician at Homerton University Hospital, Hackney, Professor Costeloe has co-led research on the survival and health status of infants born at less than 26 weeks gestation.

Professor Graham Rees, Professor of English received an OBE for Services to Scholarship.  Professor Graham is Director of the Oxford Francis Bacon Project, which is producing a new fifteen-volume critical edition of Bacon's works. He is also Director of the Leverhulme-funded King's Printer Project investigating Jacobean printing and publishing practices.

An OBE was awarded to Professor Deborah Ashby, a research fellow of the School of Mathematical Sciences at Queen Mary, formerly of the Wolfson Institute, now based at Imperial College.  She received her award for Services to Medicine.

The full list of New Year’s Honours can be found on the Government’s Honours website.

Back to top