Skip to main content
Wolfson Institute of Population Health

Health and Lifestyle Research Unit (HAL)

  

A group photo of the Health and Lifestyle Research Unit staff members

UNIT LEAD Professor Peter Hajek

We conduct research in tobacco dependence and in weight management. HAL is one of the leading smoking cessation research centres globally. Its work has informed the establishment of the national Stop Smoking Service, a series of NICE guidelines, and clinical practice worldwide. Weight management research is a more recent addition to HAL’s work. The focus is on evaluating interventions that, if effective, can be disseminated economically on a large scale. The current main research funders are NIHR and CRUK. Current grants comprise funding of over £4 million. We teach throughout the medical curriculum and on other QMUL courses.

  • Tobacco dependence and smoking cessation.
  • Weight management.
  • Behaviour change.


OUR TEAM

Peter Hajek  - Professor of Clinical Psychology - 0207 882 8232 - p.hajek@qmul.ac.uk

Daniella Ladmore - Research Health Psychologist - 0207 882 5948 - daniella.ladmore@qmul.ac.uk

Dr Francesca Pesola - Research Fellow in Statistics - 0207 882 5722 - f.pesola@qmul.ac.uk

Anna Phillips-Waller - Research Manager - 0207 882 5747 - a.phillips-waller@qmul.ac.uk

Dr Dunja Przulj - Research Fellow -  0207 882 5949 - d.przulj@qmul.ac.uk

Dr Katie Smith - Senior Research Fellow - 0207 882 8245 - katie.smith@qmul.ac.uk

Sabir Ahmed - Administrator and Communications Officer - 0207 882 3265 - sabir.ahmed@qmul.ac.uk

Ayesha Begum - Stop smoking service administrator - 0207 882 8230 - a.b.begum@qmul.ac.uk

Shajue Begum - Tobacco Cessation Practitioner - 0207 882 8669 - shajue.begum@qmul.ac.uk

Shamsia Begum - Service Manager - 0207 882 3264 - s.begum@qmul.ac.uk

Farah Desai - Tobacco Cessation Practitioner - 0207 882 8246 - f.desai@qmul.ac.uk

Dipul Ghosh - Tobacco Cessation Practitioner - 0207 882 8660 - d.ghosh@qmul.ac.uk

Emma Montero - Tobacco Cessation Practitioner - 0207 882 6607  - e.montero@qmul.ac.uk

Kamrun Nahar - Tobacco Cessation Practitioner - 0207 882 7374 - k.nahar@qmul.ac.uk

 

 

CONTACT

Unit Reception: 0207 882 8230

2 Stayners Road, Mile End, London E1 4AH

 

Back to top