Skip to main content
Music at QMUL

Goldberg Variations - City of London Sinfonia presents Bach and The Cosmos

10 October 2018

Time: 7:30 - 9:00pm
Venue: The Octagon, Queens Building, Queen Mary University of London, Mile End, E1 4NS

In the opening concert of City of London Sinfonia's Bach and the Cosmos series, Oxford Mathematician James Sparks and CLS's musicians take the audience on a visual journey through JS Bach’s most numerical piece: the Goldberg Variations.

Through visuals, musical examples and numerical explanations, James Sparks explores how Bach uses mathematical methodologies to expand musical subjects and exhaust all permutations of every theme in his 30 Variations. As the piece transforms, different sections of the Orchestra are illuminated, highlighting Bach’s many beautiful mathematical structures and patterns.

JS BACH arr. RODERICK WILLIAMS Cello Suite No.3 in C minor: Bourrée

JS BACH arr. SITKOVETSKY Goldberg Variations

City of London Sinfonia
Alexandra Wood Director/Violin
James Sparks Mathematician

Back to top