Skip to main content

Queen Mary academics awards and honours

Awards and honours for our academics 

The Academy of Medical Sciences Fellowships

Professors Patricia MunroeSteve Thornton and Chris Griffiths have all been recognised for their innovative research in their respective fields of molecular medicine, obstetrics and primary care.

Each scientist has been noted by the Academy of Medical Sciences to have made a significant contribution in advancing medical science and helped both patients and wider society through their research.

Fifty biomedical and health scientists were chosen to be elected by The Academy of Medical Sciences to its respected and influential Fellowship, out of a total of 384 candidates.

Professor Dame Anne Johnson PMedSci, President of the Academy of Medical Sciences, said: “I am truly delighted to welcome these 50 new Fellows to the Academy’s Fellowship, and I offer my congratulations to each of them on their exceptional contribution to biomedical and health science. The knowledge, skill and influence that each brings to the Fellowship is the Academy’s most powerful asset.”

Beetlestone Award

Meanwhile, Professor Fran Balkwill OBE, Professor of Cancer Biology has been announced as the 2021 winner of the Beetlestone Award which recognises leadership and legacy in the field of informal science learning.

Professor Balkwill was recognised for her work as a children’s science author and the founding director of Queen Mary’s Centre of the Cell, which opened in 2009 and is the first science centre in the world to be situated within a working biomedical research facility.

Image credit: Big T Images for Academy of Medical Sciences

Back to top