Institute of Dentistry - Barts and The London

School of Medicine Athena SWAN Team

The Self-Assessment Team (SAT) is made up of a group of individuals working in various roles across the School of Medicine. Our current mission is to finalise and submit the School of Medicine's application for Silver status to the ECU’s Athena SWAN Charter for November 2017. Whilst meeting regularly as a team, we all have allocated roles and meet regularly in smaller sub-groups in order to carry forward certain aspects of the November application. These groups are working on the following areas: data, writing, communications, interventions and impact. 

The School of Medicine Athena Swan Working Group members are:

Maralyn Druce 




Laura Simpson 

Athena Swan Co-ordinator

Sandra Brown

QMUL Diversity Coordinator

Natalie McCloskey 

Institute Manager, Blizard

Rachel Ashworth 

Institute of Health Science representative

Matthew Caley 

Postdoctoral Representative

Angus Cameron

Early Career Researcher

Danë Goodsman

Reader in Medical Education


WISE Chair

Helen Bintley

LGBTQ lead

Emma Atakpa

Medical Statistics PhD Student

Enid Hennessy

Expert with responsibility for data

Tom Schindler

Professional Staff representative

Mangala Patel

Institute of Dentistry SAT Chair

Jane Sosabowski

Established parents returners lunch

Lou Metherell

William Harvey representative

Vanessa Sousa

Institute of Denstistry representative





We are nervously awaiting the results of our Silver Award re-application to the Equality Challenge Unit  in November 2017. A lot of work goes into the School of Medicine's application and this is our chance to showcase all the good work we have been doing for gender equality.

We will share the results when we get them.

Download the TOR here:


Download previous submissions here:  
Athena SWAN 2014 Application [PDF 1,956KB]
Institute of Dentistry's submission

Although part of the same faculty, Medicine and Dentistry have separate Athena SWAN submissions.