Zero Tolerance

Specialist support if you’ve experienced discrimination

Discrimination means being treated unfairly because of who you are. The Equality Act 2010 protects people from discrimination by:

  • Employers
  • Schools, colleges, universities and other education providers
  • Businesses and organisations which provide goods or services like banks, shops and utility companies
  • Health and care providers like hospitals and care homes
  • Someone you rent or buy a property from, including housing associations and estate agents
  • Transport services including buses, trains and taxis
  • Public bodies like local authorities and government departments.

There are nine protected characteristics (age, disability, gender reassignment, marriage and civil partnership, pregnancy and maternity, race, religion and beliefs, sex and sexual orientation) covered by the Equality Act. Discrimination which happens due to one or more of these characteristics is unlawful under the Act.

Equality Advisory Support Service (EASS)
The EASS helpline advises and assists individuals on issues relating to equality and human rights across England, Scotland and Wales. They can help with a wide range of issues, including how you’re treated at work due to your gender, if you’re disabled and need access to an interpreter to update your details at your bank and more.

Stand Against Racism & Inequality (SARI)
SARI is an agency that provides support and advice to victims of discrimination and hate, and promotes equality and good relations between people with the protected characteristics as defined by law.

Citizen’s Advice Bureau
The Citizen’s Advice Bureau offers support and provides advice if you’ve been discriminated against. They provide free, independent, confidential and impartial advice to everybody on their rights and responsibilities.