School of Physics and Astronomy

Schools Physicist of the Year

Schools Physicist of the Year is a national initiative funded by The Ogden Trust. Queen Mary University of London's event is eligible to all schools in South and East London. Teachers are invited to select one student from each of Years 7 and 10 who they feel deserves to be recognised for their efforts and achievements in physics.

The Ogden Trust are interested in rewarding enthusiastic students who may have faced difficulty throughout the year but continued to show progression in physics. They may have shown significant improvement in their studies or demonstrated enjoyment and a great interest in the subject, perhaps despite lacking support at home. The student does not necessarily need to be the highest-achieving student academically.

All students put forward by their respective schools will be winners and be invited to an awards ceremony held at Queen Mary. This event will celebrate these exceptional students and highlight the excitement and opportunities of studying physics. Light refreshments and a buffet will also be provided. 

Up to two members of the student’s family/guardians may accompany them and we hope that you or another teacher/school representative will be able to attend and enjoy this occasion also (note that all students must be accompanied by at least one adult).

The 2019 event will be held on Monday 24 June 6:30-8:30pm
People's Palace, Queen Mary University of London (campus map)
6:30-7:15 Arrival and reception (food and drinks will be served)
7:15-8:00 Welcome address and awards
8:00-8:30 Photos

The deadline to inform us of your school's winner(s) has passed and we are unable to take late entries
SPOTY Student Invitation Letter [DOC 181KB]