School of Physics and Astronomy

T2K collaboration awarded the prestigious Breakthrough Prize for Fundamental Physics

news image
Dr Koichiro Nishikawa and the members of the T2K collaboration have been awarded the prestigious Breakthrough Prize for Fundamental Physics, for their role in the discovery and study of neutrino oscillation. 
The prize, presented by the Breakthrough Prize Foundation, was awarded “for the fundamental discovery of neutrino oscillations, revealing a new frontier beyond, and possibly far beyond, the standard model of particle physics”. The prize is valued at 3 million USD, and is shared with four other international experimental collaborations studying neutrino oscillation: The Daya Bay, KamLAND, SNO, and Super-Kamiokande scientific collaborations.  The T2K collaboration is named together with the K2K collaboration for its share of the prize.  Dr. Nishikawa is the founding spokesperson of the T2K and K2K collaborations.
QMUL is a founding member of the T2K collaboration, currently in the process of joining Super-Kamiokande, and working on the future experiment upgrade of T2K Hyper-Kamiokande.