Skip to main content
Barts and The London School of Medicine and Dentistry

About the EDI Team

Who we are

 

A photo of Professor Chloe Orkin

Professor Chloe Orkin

Chair of the School of Medicine and Dentistry Equality Diversity and Inclusion (EDI) Committee

Professor of HIV Medicine at the Blizard Institute and Consultant Physician in Sexual Health and HIVBarts Health NHS Trust

Staff profile

 

Dr Vanessa Apea

Deputy Academic Lead of the School of Medicine and Dentistry Equality Diversity and Inclusion (EDI) Committee

Consultant Physician in Sexual Health and HIV, Barts Health NHS Trust and Honorary Senior Lecturer, Blizard Institute

 

 

A photo of Dr Aylin Baysan

Dr Aylin Baysan

Chair of the Institute of Dentistry Athena SWAN Committee and Deputy Academic Lead of the School of Medicine and Dentistry Equality Diversity and Inclusion (EDI) Committee

Reader in Cariology in relation to Minimally Invasive Dentistry (MID) 

Staff profile

 

 

Dr Shafaq Sikandar

Chair of the School of Medicine Athena SWAN Committee and Deputy Academic Lead of the School of Medicine and Dentistry Equality Diversity and Inclusion (EDI) Committee

Versus Arthritis Fellow and Senior Lecturer in Sensory Biology

Staff profile

 

 

A photo of Dr Riya George

Dr Riya George

Deputy Academic Lead of the School of Medicine and Dentistry Equality Diversity and Inclusion (EDI) Committee

Lecturer in Clinical Communication Skills

Staff profile

 

 

Laura Simpson

Athena SWAN Coordinator and EDI webpage editor, VP Health Team

l.simpson@qmul.ac.uk 

 

 

Institute EDI Representatives 

Barts Cancer Institute: Dr Sabari Vallath sabari.vallath@qmul.ac.uk

Blizard Institute: Dr Tania Maffucci t.maffucci@qmul.ac.uk

Institute of Dentistry: Dr Aylin Baysan a.baysan@qmul.ac.uk

Institute of Health Sciences Education: Shahrar Ali shahrar.ali@qmul.ac.uk

William Harvey Research Institute: Shafaq Sikander s.sikandar@qmul.ac.uk

Wolfson Institute of Population Health: Maria D'Amico m.damico@qmul.ac.uk

 

Our Committees

Chair: Professor Sandra Eldridge

Co-Chair: Dr Riya George

Committee secretary: Im Hussain m.hussain@qmul.ac.uk 

Key documents: 

SMD EDI TOR [DOC 20KB]

Frequency of meetings: 6 times per year

Key contacts: 

Name Title Role Contact details
Mat Robathan BLSA President   UG student rep president@bartslondon.com 
Dr Helen Bintley Clinical Skills Lecturer  LGBTQ+ liaison h.bintley@qmul.ac.uk
Marissa Harris SMD Strategic HR Partner  HR lead m.harris@qmul.ac.uk 
Dr Riya George (maternity leave) Lecturer in Clinical Communication Skills   Co-Chair of Committee, BAME Attainment Gap Research Group, IHSE rep r.george@qmul.ac.uk  
Im Hussain SMD Equality and Diversity Data Officer Secretary and Data Officer im.hussain@qmul.ac.uk 
Professor Chloe Orkin Professor of HIV Medicine Athena SWAN Chair c.orkin@qmul.ac.uk 
Mangala Patel Professor of Dental Medicine BAME Attainment Gap Research Group m.patel@qmul.ac.uk 
Laura Simpson Athena SWAN Coordinator

EDI webpage editor

Athena SWAN liaison

l.simpson@qmul.ac.uk 
Sabari Vallath  Deputy Institute Manager  Barts Cancer Institute rep sabari.vallath@qmul.ac.uk  
Tania Maffucci  Senior Lecturer Blizard Institute rep t.maffucci@qmul.ac.uk  
Aylin Baysan Clinical Reader in Cariology in relation to MID Institute of Dentistry rep a.baysan@qmul.ac.uk
Shahrar Ali Assistant Institute Manager (Quality and Research) Institute of Health Sciences Education rep shahrar.ali@qmul.ac.uk
Maria D'Amico PPCTU Trial Manager Institute of Population Health Science rep m.damico@qmul.ac.uk
Shafaq Sikandar  Lecturer in Sensory Biology
William Harvey Research Institute rep
s.sikandar@qmul.ac.uk  
Rehana Patel  Academic PG Programmes Manager  Wolfson Institute rep rehana.patel@qmul.ac.uk  

 

Chair: Professor Chloe Orkin

Vice-Chair: Natalie McCloskey n.mccloskey@qmul.ac.uk 

Athena SWAN Coordinator: Laura Simpson l.simpson@qmul.ac.uk 

Key documents: 

Silver Athena SWAN document [PDF 6,086KB]

Athena SWAN SAT TOR [DOC 51KB]

Frequency of meetings: 6 times per year

Key contacts: 

Name Title and role Role Contact details
Chinedu Anthony Anene Post-Doctoral Researcher  Post-doc liaison a.anene@qmul.ac.uk  
Mat Robathan BLSA President  UG Student rep  president@bartslondon.com  
Sheila Olendo Barasa PhD student PG student liaison s.o.barasa@qmul.ac.uk  
Angus Cameron 

Senior Lecturer 

Shared Parental Leave, work/life balance  a.cameron@qmul.ac.uk 
Ruth Dobson

Clinical Senior Lecturer

Clinical academic liaison ruth.dobson@qmul.ac.uk 
Sandra Eldridge Professor  SMD EDI Committee Chair s.eldridge@qmul.ac.uk 
Dipesh Gopal Academic Clinical Fellow  Communications lead  d.gopal@qmul.ac.uk 
Im Hussain SMD Equality and Diversity Data Officer Data im.hussain@qmul.ac.uk 
Natalie McCloskey Institute Manager  Vice-Chair of SAT n.mccloskey@qmul.ac.uk 
Lou Metherell Professor, PI research  Academic researcher  l.a.metherell@qmul.ac.uk 
Elizabeth Micakovic EA to VP (maternity leave) VP Health liaison e.micakovic@qmul.ac.uk 
Laura Simpson  Athena SWAN Coordinator  Committee secretary l.simpson@qmul.ac.uk 
Shafaq Sikander Lecturer Academic liaison  s.sikandar@qmul.ac.uk 
Nasema Uddin SMD Research Deanery Manager Research liaison nasema.uddin@qmul.ac.uk 

 

Chair: Dr Aylin Baysan

Athena SWAN Coordinator: Laura Simpson l.simpson@qmul.ac.uk 

Key documents: 

Institute of Dentistry 2018 Silver Award [PDF 2,600KB]

Frequency of meetings: 6 times per year

Key contacts: 

Name Title and role Role Contact details
Aylin Baysan Reader in Cariology Chair of SAT a.baysan@qmul.ac.uk  
Professor Paul Coulthard Dean for Dentistry Clinical Academic staff p.coulthard@qmul.ac.uk
Lorna Ireland Institute Manager  Professional staff liaison l.ireland@qmul.ac.uk   
Im Hussain SMD Equality and Diversity Data Officer Data officer im.hussain@qmul.ac.uk 
Laura Simpson  Athena SWAN Coordinator  Committee secretary l.simpson@qmul.ac.uk 
Samantha Matthew Assistant Institute Manager Professional staff liaison s.matthew@qmul.ac.uk

Who are we?

We are ARSC (Anti-Racism Steering Committee): a student-staff collaboration to help actively address issues of race & racism within our curriculums. We want to represent all of BL SMD and currently have student & staff representatives for Medicine, Dentistry, Physician Associates and Global Health. We are working towards having representation from all courses and will be sending out application forms in the near future for unfilled positions.

Why were we created?

We were set up following the recent unrest and Black Lives Matter protesting in the wake of the unlawful killing of George Floyd & many others, and increased awareness of systemic racism in our societies. In addition, much conversation has rightly centered the racial health disparities in mortality rates from COVID-19, further exposing the health, social and racial inequities that have been present for so long.

It has become clear that we can no longer stand and allow these and countless other issues to be side-lined; we need collaborative work to enact long-lasting change.

Steering Committee members

The steering committee is a student-staff collaborative initiative and currently includes students and staff from Medicine, Dentistry, Physician Associate, Malta and Allied Healthcare Courses.  

Thaarabi Tharmapathy –BLSA BAME Student Representative and Student Lead 

Yasmine Saima Jabbar – British Medical Association (BMA) Student Representative 

Jed Ashman – Phase 1 Student Lead 

Guilia Olayemi – Phase 1 Student Lead 

Sally Mohammed – Phase 2 Student Lead 

Christine Joerres – Phase 2 Student Lead 

Halima Okewole – Phase 3 Student Lead 

Rakin Choudhury – BLSA Alumni Rep / Phase 3 Student Lead 

Ehsan Gauher – Gozo Society President (Malta) 

Angie Anifalaje – Malta Student Representative 

Milton Justinsuthakaran – Dental President 

Mollie Cronin – Global Health Course Representative 

Dr Riya George – Co-Chair of EDI SMD Committee 

Dr Nimesh Patel – Head of Assessment 

Dr Wendy Lowe – Senior Lecturer in Medical Education  

Dr Lucy Carter – Physician Associate Lecturer 

Dr Deepa Shah – Clinical Lecturer/ Co-lead  on Yr 3 GP teaching, CBME 

Dr Devina Raval – Senior Lecturer/Lead in Clinical Skills (London) 

Ms Gina Baker – Academic and Wellbeing Support in Malta 

Professor Mangala Patel – Professor of Bio Dental Materials 

Dr Shahrar Ali – IHSE EDI Lead 

Key documents

Barts and The London BMA Racial Harassment Charter [PDF 148KB]

Anti-Racism Committee Governance Structure [PDF 907KB]

Anti-Racism Medicine 2020 Survey Results [PDF 1,918KB]

Anti-Racism Physician Associate 2020 Survey report [PDF 871KB]

Anti-racism steering committee dictionary [PDF 530KB]

Anti-racism steering committee live resources document [DOC 40KB]