School of Biological and Chemical Sciences

Psychology seminars

The Psychology department will be running a number of Psychology seminars throughout the year, showcasing the groundbreaking Psychology research that takes place in the School of Biological and Chemical Sciences.

In Semester one, all seminars take place on Tuesdays from 12.30pm - 1.30pm in the Peston Lecture Theatre, Graduate Centre. 

In Semester two, all seminars take place on Tuesdays from 12.30pm - 1.30pm in the Fogg Lecture Theatre, G.E. Fogg Building. 

The seminars are open to all.

DateSpeakerTitle
Tues 9 October Dr Frederike Beyer, Lecturer in Psychology

Voluntary action in social contexts: mentalizing, outcome monitoring and sense of agency

Tues 16 October Professor David Clayton

Behavioural epigenetics across the lifecourse: developmental reprogramming by parental signals in songbirds

Tues 23 October John Vincent, PhD Student and Dr Kristin Hadfield

The genetics of cognitive bias in the development of psychiatric disorders: An introduction and overview

Tues 30 October Cui Guan

Protein arginine methylation in bumblebee brain development and visual learning and Social knowledge before social life: How precocial species are changing our approach to the early stages of life 

 

Dr Elisabetta Versace
Tues 20 November Dr Georgina Hosang

Do symptoms of ADHD and hypomania share genetic and environmental influences in young people? A longitudinal twin study

Tues 4 December Dr Fiona McEwen

Culture, context and mental health: validating screening questionnaires for mental health problems in Syrian refugee children in Lebanon

Tues 11 December Maev Coneely (PhD Student)

TBC

 

Dr Robert Lachlan
Tues 8 January Dr Shirley Wang

TBC

Tues 15 January Dr Caroline Di Luft

TBC

Tues 22 January Judit Garcia-Gonzalez, PhD Student

Gene-environment interplay in psychosis: A polygenic approach

 

Dr Sevasti Foka
Tues 29 January Dr Robert Keers

TBC

Tues 5 February

Dr Lilah Glazer, Marie Skłodowska-Curie Research Fellow

Life-long behavioural effects of zebrafish embryonic exposure to organic mercury

 

Ioanna Zioga (PhD Student)

Tues 12 February

Milena Nikoic (Research Fellow)

TBC

Tues 26 February

Maria Petrazzini (Marie Skłodowska-Curie Research Fellow)

TBC

Tues 5 March 

Dr Isabelle Mareschal and

TBC

 

Rebecca Oldroyd (PhD Student)

Tues 12 March

Dr Elke Vlemincx

TBC

Tues 19 March

Dr Janelle Jones

TBC

Tues 26 March

SBCS Psychology Students

TBC