Skip to main content
Queen Mary Academy

A guide to the Fellowship process


HEA Fellowships:

HEA's four categories of FellowshipWhich category of Fellowship should you apply for?
Associate Fellow Early career individuals with some teaching and learning responsibilities
Fellow Staff holding substantive teaching and learning responsibilities
Senior Fellow Staff with responsibility for leading, managing or organising programmes, subjects and/or disciplinary areas
Principal Fellow Staff responsible for strategic leadership and policy-making in the area of teaching and learning


Apply for HEA Fellowships

Submission deadlineMeeting date
7 January 2022 9 February 2022
19 March 2022 20 April 2022
13 May 2022 15 June 2022

Our next submission deadline is 19 March 2022. 

Awards are usually communicated two weeks after the panel meeting.

Please send your finished APP and reference letters, together with your completed cover sheet, to Please do not hesitate to contact the Teaching Recognition team if you require any further information.

By applying to become a Fellow (of any category) you will have the opportunity to:

  • Think deeply about and thereby enhance the quality and effectiveness of your work in the area of teaching and supporting learning in higher education;
  • Gain national and increasingly international recognition for your role as a teacher and/or supporter of learning within the higher education context.

The appropriate accreditation for most university staff is Fellowship of the HEA following the guidelines for Descriptor 2 (D2), although staff may wish to apply for other descriptors (D1, D3, or D4).

To receive support in writing your application you can sign up to a workshop, or book a drop-in session.