Skip to main content
Queen Mary Academy

Taught Programmes

The Taught Programmes run by the Queen Mary Academy offer Queen Mary staff the opportunity to achieve Advance HE recognition (HEA Fellowships) for their teaching as well as a Level 7 qualification.

These programmes are aimed primarily at new members of staff with less than three years’ experience teaching in higher education, but are also open to any other members of staff who wish to gain a qualification in learning and teaching.  If you decide you would like to follow the taught route, the next step is to choose which course to take.


Participants enjoying the learning experience.


The Certificate in Learning and Teaching (CILT) is a course designed for part-time educators and others who support learning but do not lead or convene modules. Participants take two 15-credit modules (level 7) over two semesters. Successful completion leads to Associate Fellowship of the Higher Education Academy.

Participants getting to know one another


The Postgraduate Certificate in Academic Practice (PGCert Academic Practice) is recommended for colleagues engaged on lecturing contracts who have a full range of responsibilities including curriculum development work and research.  Participants take four 15-credit modules (level 7) over the course of two years. PGCAP fulfils the probation requirements for new members of academic staff, and successful completion leads to Fellowship of the Higher Education Academy.