School of Mathematical Sciences

The Ann Cook Prize

This prize is awarded annually to the postgraduate student who submits the best poster at the end of their second year of research in the School. The prize is named after, and was inaugurated by, Mrs Ann Cook, who for many years until her retirement was secretary to the Head of School and ensured the smooth and effective running of many aspects of the School. In particular, Ann was always caring for the well-being of the graduate students. The continuation and enhancement of the Prize has been made possible by generous gifts from two anonymous donors. The entries for the prize give a good overview of a cross-section of the graduate research being done within the School.

Students in their second year of postgraduate research in the School should read the section below.

Instructions and Advice

You should format your entry as a poster suitable for presentation at a conference. Your brief is to convey a flavour of the area you are researching, some problem you are working on, and maybe some (partial) results you may have. Your target audience is the general mathematical community. Exposition is as important as content; the main aim is to get the ideas across, rather than provide detailed proofs and calculations. To this end, the use of diagrams and colour is encouraged. The total area of the submission should be A2. The judges will take into account the standard of exposition, and will expect that not too much background knowledge is assumed.

Submission is as a file in PDF format due a week or two before PG Research Day. Posters in A1 format will be made up from these PDF files. We will assume that you agree to have the electronic version made available on the Web. Exact deadlines and instructions for submitting posters will be e-mailed to eligible students.

Reto Buzano and Xin Li are happy to give advice, either on general principles or on your draft document. Contact him by email if you want to discuss anything connected with the prize.

[Photo: The Winners of the 2018 Ann Cook Prize]