School of Mathematical Sciences

Ian Macdonald award

The applicant judged to be the strongest potential PhD candidate will be offered the prestigious Ian Macdonald award. This award, a £1000 studentship, is named in honour of Professor Ian Macdonald, a former Professor of Mathematics at Queen Mary renowned for his contributions to symmetric functions, special functions, Lie algebra and other aspects of algebraic combinatorics.

All students who apply for a PhD position will automatically be considered for this award, the recipient of which will be decided by PGR selectors from the School of Mathematical Sciences. The winning student will be awarded the prize upon enrolling at Queen Mary.

A list of previous awardees can be found below:

  • 2016: Rachel King
  • 2017: Lewis Mead and Kieran Ryan
  • 2018: Natalie Evans

Further information about Professor Macdonald can be found here.

Ian G. Macdonald at OberwolfachIan G. Macdonald at Oberwolfach in 1977

Image credit: Konrad Jacobs, Erlangen, Copyright is MFO – Mathematisches Forschungsinstitut Oberwolfach. Creative Commons Licensed.