Skip to main content

IHSS Early Career Workshop Funding Awards

The IHSS Early Career Workshop Funding scheme provides funding for the organisation of workshops with a cross-disciplinary dimension, led by ECRs across the Faculty and bringing together researchers across the academic units in the Faculty. 

Key Dates

Status: Closed

Last call: 2019-20 (round 2). The deadline was 6pm, Friday 5 June 2020.

How to apply

2019-20 - Round 2 - Application Document

Funded activties

“Cultural Finance,” a new and emerging area of economics that explores how cultural norms interact with financial decision making
Professor Jason Sturgess (School of Economics and Finance) and Dr Ben Holgate (School of Languages, Linguistics and Film)

Topology and spatial distribution analysis applied to environmental science
Dr Clementine Chirol (School of Geography)

Nationality Now: The History, Culture, and Politics of Contemporary Citizenship
Dr Nanor Kebranian (School of Law)

“The Role of Citizens in Reforming EU Democracy”
Dr Davor Jancic (School of Law)

Displacement and Refugee Protection in Latin America and beyond
Dr Marcia Vera Espinoza (School of Geography)

The Post-Wage Economy: Why we need to re-theorise ‘work’ beyond the wage
Dr. William Monteith (School of Geography) was awarded funding for the above workshop. A summary of his report can be viewed here.

Critical Area Studies and the Future of South Asia at QMUL
Dr Chris Moffat (School of History) and Dr Adhira Mangalagiri (School of Languages, Linguistics and Film) was awarded fuding for the above workshop.  Other colleagues contributing to the project are Dr Ash Devasundaram and Dr Shital Pravinchandra (School of Languages, Linguistics and Film), Dr Amit Rai (School of Business and Management) and Dr Philippa Williams (School of Geography).  

Launching the QM South Asia Forum [PDF 77KB]