

SENATE MEMBERSHIP 2023-24

EX OFFICIO MEMBERS

a) Chair

President & Principal Professor Colin Bailey

b) The Vice-Principals

Vice-Principal (Health)

Vice-Principal and Executive Dean (Humanities & Professor Mark Caulfield Professor Frances Bowen

Social Science

Social Science)

Vice-Principal and Executive Dean (Science & Professor Wen Wang

Engineering)

Vice-Principal (Education) Professor Stephanie Marshall Vice-Principal (International) Vacant

Vice-Principal (International)
Vice-Principal (Policy and Strategic Partnerships)

Vice-Principal (Policy and Strategic Partnerships)

Dr Philippa Lloyd

Vice-Principal (Research and Innovation)

Professor Andrew Livingston

Vacant

Aisha Qadi

Vice-Principal (People, Culture and Inclusion)

c) The President of the Students' Union Serena-Amani Al Jabbar

d) The Students' Union Vice-Presidents

Vice-President Humanities and Social Sciences Jovani Palnoni Vice-President Barts and The London Amaan Abbas

Vice-President Barts and The London Vice-President Science and Engineering

e) Heads/Deans of Schools & Institutes Humanities and Social Sciences

Business Management Professor Mike Noon

Centre for Commercial Law Studies Professor Ioannis
Economics and Finance Professor Jason 9

English and Drama

Geography History

Languages, Linguistics & Film

Law

Politics and International Relations

Medicine and Dentistry

Barts Cancer Institute
Blizard Institute
Institute of Dentistry

Institute of Health Sciences Education
William Harvey Research Institute
Wolfson Institute of Population Health

Science and Engineering

Professor Ioannis Kokkoris
Professor Jason Sturgess
Professor Scott McCracken
Professor Kavita Datta
Professor Emma Griffin
Professor Kathryn Richardson
Professor Michael Harker
Professor Martin Coward

Professor Nitzan Rosenfeld Professor Mary Collins

Professor Christopher Tredwin Professor Arunthathi Mahendran

Professor Panos Deloukas Professor Fiona Walter Biological and Behavioural Sciences

Electronic Engineering and Computer Science

Engineering and Materials Science

Mathematical Sciences

Physical and Chemical Sciences

Professor Richard Pickersgill Professor Steve Uhlig Professor Hazel Screen Professor Boris Khoruzhenko

f) Faculty Deans of Research and Taught

Programmes

Humanities and Social Sciences

Dean for Education

Dean for Research

Medicine and Dentistry

Dean for Education Dean for Research

Science and Engineering

Dean for Education

Dean for Education

Dean for Research

Elizabeth Gillow

Professor Galin Tihanov

Professor Adrian Bevan

Professor Anthony Warrens Professor Amrita Ahluwalia

Professor Christopher Bray Professor Martin Knight

g) Elected members of academic staff

The numbers of elected members of academic staff per faculty may vary to provide for uneven numbers of Heads of Schools/Institutes so that there is in total an even number from each Faculty over all membership categories.

1) Constituency One: Nine elected members of the academic staff from the Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences

Professor Rob Briner [Business and Management] [2026]

Professor Liam Campling [Business and Management] [2027]

Professor Neve Gordon [Law] [2025]

Professor Wayne Joseph Morrison [Law] [2025]

Professor Rachael Mulheron KC (Hon) [Law] [2027]

Dr Émilie Oléron Evans [Languages, Linguistics and Film] [2026]

Dr Sharri Plonski [Politics and International Relations] [2027]

Dr James Strong [Politics and International Relations] [2025]

[One vacancy]

2) Constituency Two: Twelve elected members of the academic staff of the School of Medicine and Dentistry

Dr Georgia Black [Wolfson Institute of Population Health] [2027]

Dr Erik Blair [Institute of Health Sciences Education] [2026]

Dr Livia A Carvalho [William Harvey Research Institute] [2027]

Dr Dianne Cooper [William Harvey Research Institute] [2024]

Dr Pedro Elston [Institute of Health Sciences Education] [2026]

Dr Abimbola Giwa [Institute of Dentistry] [2025]

Professor Richard Grose [Barts Cancer Institute] [2025]

Professor John Marshall [Barts Cancer Institute] [2026]

Dr Ali Nankali [Institute of Dentistry] [2024]

Dr Michael Page [Institute of Health Sciences Education] [2024]

Dr Simon Rawlinson [Institute of Dentistry] [2025]

[One vacancy]

3) Constituency Three: Thirteen members of the academic staff from the Faculty of Science and Engineering

Dr Oscar Bandtlow [Mathematical Sciences] [2027]

Dr Giorgio Chianello [Physical and Chemical Sciences] [2025]

Professor Giulia De Falco [Biological and Behavioural Sciences] [2025]

Dr Jayne Dennis [Biological and Behavioural Sciences] [2026]

Dr Lei Fang [Mathematical Sciences] [2027]

Dr Paula Fonseca [Electronic Engineering and Computer Science] [2024]

Professor Steffi Krause [Engineering and Materials Science] [2024]

Dr Michaela MacDonald [Electronic Engineering and Computer Science] [2026]

Dr Anthony Phillips [Physical and Chemical Sciences] [2026]

Professor Thomas Prellberg [Mathematical Sciences] [2026]

Professor Elizabeth Tanner [Engineering and Materials Science] [2026]

Dr Yannick Wurm [Biological and Behavioural Sciences] [2026]

[One vacancy]

ACADEMIC SECRETARIAT

Chief Governance Officer and University Secretary Director of Governance and Legal Services

Jonathan Morgan Jane Pallant

IN ATTENDANCE

Deputy Vice-Principal for Impact, Civic, Culture and Community

Deputy Vice-Principal for Strategic Research

Deputy Vice-Principal Education

Deputy Vice-Principal for Impact Enterprise and

Commercial Innovation

Deputy Vice-Principal for Education

Dean for Postgraduate Research, Blizard Institute

Executive officer (Academic Secretariat)

Professor Alison Blunt

Professor Yang Hao

Professor Stefan Krummaker

Professor David Lee

Professor Anthony Michael

Professor Tim Warner

Kaya Wiles

Membership count: 68

Quorum: 23

Revised 29.04.2024