School of Geography

PhD opportunities

The following PhD projects are being advertised in the School of Geography:

Fully-funded PhD projects:

Project title: Microbial activity at the ice-soil interface in a High-Arctic setting
Supervisor(s):
James Bradley, (QMUL Geography) Anne Jungblut, (Natural History Museum), Kate Heppell (QMUL Geography)

Other PhD projects:

Project title: Rewilding and Natural Flood Management
Supervisor(s): Gemma Harvey (g.l.harvey@qmul.ac.uk QMUL Geography), Alex Henshaw (QMUL Geography), Stewart Clarke (National Trust)
CASE Partner: National Trust

Project title: Microplastic-sediment interactions (MiPSi)
Supervisor(s): Kate Spencer (k.spencer@qmul.ac.uk QMUL Geography), Geraldene Wharton (QMUL Geography)

Project Title: Quantification of the impact of changing vegetation on hillslope sediment transport
Supervisor(s): Stuart Grieve (s.grieve@qmul.ac.uk QMUL Geography, Emily Lines (QMUL Geography)

Project Title: Investigating the impacts of drought on Spanish forests using terrestrial laser scanning
Supervisor(s): Emily Lines (e.lines@qmul.ac.uk QMUL Geography)

Project Title: Past intermediate and deep ocean circulation during sustained periods of warmth
Supervisors(s): Heather Ford (h.ford@qmul.ac.uk QMUL Geography)

Project Title: Microbial life and activity on glaciers and in Arctic soils
Supervisors(s): James Bradley (james.bradley@qmul.ac.uk QMUL Geography)

Project Title: Microbial survival in the energy-limited deep biosphere
Supervisors(s): James Bradley (james.bradley@qmul.ac.uk QMUL Geography)

Eligibility
Please note: NERC funding is subject to candidates meeting RCUK eligibility criteria and we encourage eligible students from the EU to apply. For details of eligibility please click here

How to apply
Applicants should include a supporting statement, CV, transcripts and certificates, details of two referees, and indicate the relevant supervisor and project title in the application form. Shortlisted candidates will be invited to interview.

To apply for a studentship being advertised by the School of Geography please click here