Centre for Commercial Law Studies

Scholarships and Prizes

Lord Browne
Lord Browne

Lord Browne Energy Law Institute Essay Prize

This year sees the launch of the Lord Browne Energy Law Institute Essay Prize. The aim of the prize is to celebrate our academic excellence and innovative thinking.

The prize bears the name of our first Energy Law Institute Annual Lecturer, the distinguished businessman, engineer and scientist, Lord Browne, who has kindly lent his name and support to the Prize.

We are delighted to announce that following a review of our top dissertations for 2018/2019 our panel, which includes Lord Browne, we have made the following selection:

  • 1st Prize - Maria Eugenia Mattera for
    ‘Addressing the Key Regulatory Challenges to Pave the Way for Energy Storage in Argentina’
  • 2nd Prize - Rosemary Hambright for
    ‘Winds of Change: A Comparative Analysis of UK and US Offshore Wind Law and Policy’
  • 3rd Prize – Maria Eugenia Bagnulo for
    ‘In what circumstances is an investor entitled to compensation under the fair and equitable treatment standard of protection in the Energy Charter Treaty…? A special analysis on photovoltaic arbitration cases in Italy, Spain and the Czech Republic.’

Lord Browne said of the award winners:

“All three of this year’s award winners have demonstrated that rare ability to do two things at once. They have undertaken deep analysis of complex matters of law and policy, while drawing clear and – most importantly – practical conclusions. The winner of the first Lord Browne ELI Essay Prize stood out for their work of great contemporary relevance, which offered a policy programme sufficiently practical to be forwarded to the Argentinian Minister of Energy. I congratulate all award winners, and in particular the winner of this inaugural prize.”

Our Congratulations to them all and in particular to the winner Maria Mattera. The essays were of a particular high standard and gave the judges a daunting challenge.

James Dallas, Executive Director, Energy Law Institute

Norah Gallagher, Academic Director, Energy Law Institute