Centre for Commercial Law Studies


James Dallas, Norah Gallagher, Silke Goldberg, Maria Taylor and Raphael Heffron with the speakers at our first Energy Forum Event


The Energy Law Institute is supported by a Management Executive, a Steering Committee compromising leading industry and legal practitioners from the field of energy and natural resources law and general academic members.

Management executive

Steering Committee

  • Andrew Clarke, General Counsel, Esso UK Limited (Chair)
  • Eleonora Andrews-Smith, Exploration & Access, BP Exploration Operating Company Limited
  • Michael Coates, Head of Legal & Director, Shell UK Limited
  • Professor Malik Dahlan, CCLS, Queen Mary University of London
  • Diane Denny, CCLS, Queen Mary University of London
  • Sam Dunkley, former General Counsel, Oil and Gas UK
  • Miriam Greenwood, Partner, SPARK Advisory Partners Limited Banking
  • Wynne Jones, Frontier Economics Ltd
  • Professor Spyros Maniatis, CCLS, Queen Mary University of London
  • Neil Miller, Partner, Norton Rose Fulbright LLP
  • Professor Loukas Mistelis, CCLS, Queen Mary University of London
  • Russell Wells, Partner, Clifford Chance.

Members of the Management Executive