Skip to main content
menu

Clinical Effectiveness Group

Research - Current Programmes

Improving Atrial Fibrillation

Atrial Fibrillation (AF) is common at older ages affecting 1 in 8 people over age 75 and this is a major cause of stroke and heart disease. Appropriate anticoagulation combined with control of blood pressure and other risk factors is highly effective in reducing stroke and heart disease. However, for many people with AF treatment is less than optimal with wide variation between providers. This study aims to identify reasons for variation in management between GP Commissioning Groups and ways to improve this. We also consider whether routine pulse checks identify more cases of AF.

Investigators

Principal Investigator

Dr John Robson, Clinical Effectiveness Group, Email: j.robson@qmul.ac.uk

 

Co Investigator

Zaheer Ahmed, Informatics Lead, Clinical Effectiveness Group. Email: zaheer.ahmed@qmul.ac.uk,

Kate Homer, Research Assistant, Clinical Effectiveness Group. Email: k.homer@qmul.ac.uk

Dr Jim Cole, Honorary Clinical Research Associate, Clinical Effectiveness Group. Email: j.cole@qmul.ac.uk

Pyam Torabi, Honorary Clinical Research Associate, Clinical Effectiveness Group.

Dr Manil Malawana, NIHR-In Practice Fellow, Clinical Effectiveness Group. Email: manil.malawana@googlemail.com

Luis Ayerbe, Dr Kambiz Boomla, Clinical Lead, Clinical Effectiveness Group. Email: k.boomla@qmul.ac.uk

Report to be produced 2018

Secure Health Analysis and Research in East London (SHARE) 

The Clinical Effectiveness Group (CEG) has real-time web access to all the electronic health records (EMIS Web) of 1.2 million patients, registered with general practices in Tower Hamlets, Newham, Hackney and Waltham Forest.

CEG wish to expand their curation of this unique asset. They wish to improve third party access by clinicians, local practices, CCGs/public health/acute Trusts and researchers for patient benefit.  CEG are also preparing for opportunities for linkage with hospital records through the new Discovery Project.


The SHARE programme will provide better data access for researchers and third parties, allowing data curation with secure, governed sharing and analysis of linked datasets.  This will enable new discoveries and research findings at a speed and a scale not previously possible, with major impacts on patient outcomes and reseach innovation.

Cardiac Data Entry

This study has two separate components.  Firstly, to standardise the care pathway for patients with cardiac problems.  The study created a standard data entry for common cardiac conditions in the GP electronic patient record, so that GPs can easily generate a standard referral letter to consultants.  It created a similar facility in the hospital record system so that consultants can create a standardised letter reporting their finding back to the GP.

Secondly, we developed a standard risk report that was generated from the patient electronic health record after an NHS Health Check.  The report visually described cardiovascular risks and the patients own risk factors such as blood pressure or smoking status so the health care assistant or nurse has a structure around which to build their advice and the patient has something meaningful to take away with them.

Investigators

Principal Investigator

Dr John Robson, Email: j.robson@qmul.ac.uk, Adam Timmis

Collaborators

Meredith Hawking, Jayne Callaghan, Fae Wilkins, Neil Bodagh

Return to top