menu

Clinical Effectiveness Group

Research menu

Improving Atrial Fibrillation

Research Funder

NIHR CLAHRC North Thames

Atrial Fibrillation (AF) is common at older ages affecting 1 in 8 people over age 75 and this is a major cause of stroke and heart disease.  Appropriate anticoagulation combined with control of blood pressure and other risk factors is highly effective in reducing stroke and heart disease.  However, for many people with AF treatment is less than optimal with wide variation between providers.  This study aims to identify reasons for variation in management between GP Commissioning Groups and ways to improve this.  We also consider whether routine pulse checks identify more cases of AF.

Investigators

Principal Investigator

Dr John Robson, Clinical Effectiveness Group, Centre for Primary Care and Public Health, Blizard Institute, Barts and the London School of Medicine and Dentistry, Queen Mary , University of London. Email: j.robson@qmul.ac.uk

 

Co-Investigator

Zaheer Ahmed, Informatics Lead, Clinical Effectiveness Group. Email: zaheer.ahmed@qmul.ac.uk

Kate Homer,  Research Assistant, Clinical Effectiveness Group. Email: k.homer@qmul.ac.uk

Dr Jim Cole, Honorary Clinical Research Associate, Clinical Effectiveness Group. Email: j.cole@qmul.ac.uk

Pyam Torabi, Honorary Clinical Research Associate, Clinical Effectiveness Group.

Dr Manil Malawana, NIHR-In Practice Fellow, Clinical Effectiveness Group. Email: manil.malawana@googlemail.com

Luis Ayerbe

Dr Kambiz Boomla, Clinical Lead, Clinical Effectiveness Group. Email: k.boomla@qmul.ac.uk

Report to be produced 2018

Return to top