Skip to main content
Blizard Institute - Faculty of Medicine and Dentistry

Barts Innovations in Healthcare Awards - Winners

Congratulations to the winners of the Barts Innovations in Healthcare Awards November 2016!

Winners of the Collaboration Award pictured left to right: Dr Ping Yip, Dr Divyen Shah and Professor Steve Thornton

Pictured (L-R): Winners of the Collaboration Award Dr Ping Yip, Dr Divyen Shah and Professor Steve Thornton)

There were many exciting, inspiring and innovative ideas and it was a very difficult decision for the judging panel to select the top 3 teams in each category. The judges were highly complimentary of the standard and range of entries; showing the fantastic work being carried out at Barts Health. 

The Awards Ceremony was held in Barts Pathology Museum on 29 November 2016, please see the full list below.

Innovation of the Year

Winners - Alison Thomson and Gavin Giovannoni for their cost effective, environmentally friendly and easy to use 9-hole peg test for patients with Multiple Sclerosis to use for self-monitoring

Runner up - Gareth Parkes for his Patient-centred Inflammatory Bowel Disease (IBD) App to help patients manage their disease

3rd Prize - Mevan Gooneratne and Mehnaz Khan for their concept of a standardized reproducible test to measure the exercise capacity of patients booked for elective surgery 

Dragon’s Den Award

Winners - Agron Hoxha, David Gillam, Andy Bushby, Mangala Patel Dental material to produce fluoride rechargeable systems with controlled release of fluoride to prevent dental caries

Runner up - Mevan Gooneratne, Mehnaz Khan, Gayle McDonnell  for their educational online videos informing patients about the perioperative journey and the steps prior to surgery

3rd Prize - Malcolm Finlay All – Optical Ultrasound, a novel imaging method for invasive ultrasound imaging 

Collaboration Award

Winners- Divyen Shah and Ping Yip for their Panel of protein biomarkers that predict severity of brain injury in newborn babies

Runners up - Angray Kang,  Sharmilee Gnanapavan, David Baker, Gavin Giovannoni, Tahshin Rahman, Farida Fortune for their test to rapidly and sensitively detect human antibody response to biologic using a simple novel generic platform

 3rd Prize - Mohamed Thaha, Hasan Shaheed A multi-joint robotic laparoscopic retractor for rectal surgery 

Service Improvement Award

Winners - Simon Donnelly, Hasan Tahir, Rebecca Adshead Early Inflammatory Back Pain Service

Runners up - Andrea Leigh, Adolescent Steering Group Team (Lucy Wootton, David Kovar, Sherry Manning, Tara Shea, Anna Riddell, Ellie Lloyd, Ghislaine Stephenson, Michelle Johnson, Kirsty Webb-Wood, Tracy Oakden, Christine Reaveley, Jane Hawdon, Melissa Mathews), Barts Health Youth Empowerment Squad  (Theo, Lexie, Dena, Nabila, Adam, Mathew, Katie, Shamsa) for improved adolescent services and facilities across Barts Health in order to improve patient experience and outcomes in teenagers and young adults

3rd Prize - The Cryoablation team at Whipps Cross Hospital  for a high throughput atrial fibrillation ablation service established at Whipps Cross Hospital


Well done to all of the nominees and award recipients!



Back to top