Skip to main content
About us

Meet the Team

We strive to create systemic change within and beyond Queen Mary. To achieve our ambitions, climate and sustainability action is embedded across Queen Mary, steered by a central sustainability team. 

This is supported by colleagues across our faculties and directorates, particularly our Staff Sustainability Champions and colleagues within the Directorate of Estates & Facilities who enable operational change. 

Queen Mary’s Sustainability Team: 

  • Kat Thorne Director of Sustainability  
  • Sara Tome Head of Sustainability  
  • Oluwatobi Ajala • Sustainability and Energy Manager  
  • Nina Delia • Sustainability and Environment Manager  
  • Zoe Sturgess Sustainability Coordinator 
  • Vacant Sustainability Officer  

Queen Mary’s senior sustainability sponsors:  

  • Philippa Lloyd Vice-Principal (Policy and Strategic Partnerships) 
  • Ian McManus Director of Estates and Facilities & Capital Development 


In addition, several staff members across the university have responsibility for social or environmental sustainability, including: 

  • Mohammed Akbar Zero Waste Store Manager 
  • Fraser Burt • Executive Officer (Policy & Strategic) 
  • Minna Ruohonen • Civic Engagement Lead 
  • Martin Sharp Lead Staff Sustainability Champion (Data Analyst • Wolfson Institute of Population Health) 
  • Victoria Kemp Sustainability Champion • (Research Manager • Wolfson Institute of Population Health) 
  • Stephanie Fuller (Lead for Sustainability in the Curriculum & Academic Practice Taught Programme Manager) 
  • Timothy Lee • Technical Manager (Authorising Engineer) • Estates 
  • Vacant Head of Grounds & Waste Manager 


If you could not find the information you are looking for, or if you have a specific question for the QMUL Sustainability team, please get in touch by email 





Back to top