About us menu


1123 Foundation of St Bartholomew’s Hospital

1785 Foundation of The London Hospital Medical College, England’s first medical school

1843 Foundation of St Bartholomew’s Hospital Medical College

1882 Westfield College established with the objective of preparing women for entry to the University of London

1882 Walter Besant’s novel All Sorts and Conditions of Men – An Impossible Story is published, focusing on improving living conditions in east London and imagining a ‘Palace of Delight’

1885 The People’s Palace project is approved to provide ‘a library [now the Octagon], reading rooms together with other means of recreation and opportunity for social intercourse’ (including a swimming pool, gymnasium and gardens). The Drapers’ Company provides £20,000 to fund the People’s Palace Technical Schools.

1887 Queen Victoria opens the Queens’ Hall of the People’s Palace, the establishment of what is now Queen Mary, University of London

1907 The educational part of the People's Palace was admitted on a trial basis to the University of London as East London College

1915 Faculties of Arts, Science and Engineering admitted to the University of London

1917 Students accepted from The London Hospital Medical College

1934 East London College is incorporated under Royal Charter and is renamed Queen Mary College (after Her Majesty Queen Mary, wife of George V)

1989 Queen Mary merges with Westfield College to become Queen Mary and Westfield College

1995 Queen Mary and Westfield College merges with St Bartholomew’s Hospital Medical School and The London Hospital Medical and Dental Colleges

2000 Queen Mary adopts the working name Queen Mary, University of London

2004 Our Student Village on the Mile End campus opens

2005 The Blizard Building, home to the Blizard Institute of Cell and Molecular Science, opens

2006 The Octagon, the original library of the People’s Palace, reopens after refurbishment

2008 First students graduate from the Joint Programme degrees taught by Beijing University of Posts and Telecommunications and Queen Mary in Beijing

2011 The new £21m ArtsTwo Building opens, housing the School of History and a film and drama studio

2013 The legal name of Queen Mary and Westfield College, University of London is officially changed to Queen Mary University of London

2014 Queen Mary awards its own degrees for the first time

Return to top